Kevin I assume you were the 26 footer with the yellow sail. If so, wow is your judgement and memory flawed, the tri never altered course, you both decided to pass a slower boat, the tri went below the boat who heated up slightly to protect on you, while you decided to go above the slower boat. You put yourself closer to the rock by going above the slower boat. You then decided you wanted to go lower, trying to force the tri to alter course. You actually at that point approached her from winward as the overlap was broken. I heard them tell you not to sail down on them and you still tried. Finally, I think their crew said call the proper rule and we will jybe away. You called an obstruction you jybed as they jybed. I sailed on for another minute 20 yards to winward of your postion before the jybe, so not only did you violate rule 17, but you called for an obstruction when it wasn't needed. Now if you kept the seperation and didn't sail down on her, you could have jybed behind her way before you put yourself near the obstruction, but you chose the lets try to force her out of our way tactic while screaming and they will move. Must have worked for you in the past, but your luck ran out. Most people would man up to their mistake and say sorry or withdraw, but it seems like the only way you will learn is in the protest room. Sadly we only do this race now, but I am sure others will be on the look out for you.