• Announcements

    • Zapata

      Abbreviated rules   07/28/2017

      Underdawg did an excellent job of explaining the rules.  Here's the simplified version: Don't insinuate Pedo.  Warning and or timeout for a first offense.  PermaFlick for any subsequent offenses Don't out members.  See above for penalties.  Caveat:  if you have ever used your own real name or personal information here on the forums since, like, ever - it doesn't count and you are fair game. If you see spam posts, report it to the mods.  We do not hang out in every thread 24/7 If you see any of the above, report it to the mods by hitting the Report button in the offending post.   We do not take action for foul language, off-subject content, or abusive behavior unless it escalates to persistent stalking.  There may be times that we might warn someone or flick someone for something particularly egregious.  There is no standard, we will know it when we see it.  If you continually report things that do not fall into rules #1 or 2 above, you may very well get a timeout yourself for annoying the Mods with repeated whining.  Use your best judgement. Warnings, timeouts, suspensions and flicks are arbitrary and capricious.  Deal with it.  Welcome to anarchy.   If you are a newbie, there are unwritten rules to adhere to.  They will be explained to you soon enough.  

SailChiTown

Members
  • Content count

    190
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About SailChiTown

  • Rank
    Anarchist

Recent Profile Visitors

2,998 profile views
  1. Rule 17 - Proper Course rule question

    diagram would have helped, your post said LH gate, took that to mean left turn mark. What you have here is a clear violation of RRS 18.2b. green gets to sail to the mark and then proper course to round the mark.the moment either enters the zone, red has to come down.
  2. Rule 17 - Proper Course rule question

    saw your diagram, was thinking the other gate mark.
  3. Rule 17 - Proper Course rule question

    The key point here is, when B gybed on to starboard, were they overlapped or, was A ever clear ahead after B crossed DDW. From the sound of it, B was overlapped. In that case, RRS 17 is off, since B didn't come from behind, inside 2 boat lengths. Therefore, she has what we call full luffing rights, can go all the way head to wind. Also, the zone doesn't matter much because, B is the ROW boat and RRS 18 doesn't limit the inside ROW boat from luffing at a gate mark.
  4. 3Di NorDac

    J105's and T10s require woven dacron, so these sails wouldn't work for them...
  5. Windward Mark Roundings

    Red boat only has 3 positions. Hard to figure out her and who she might have fouled Black has room on everyone, blue fouls her Yellow is inside overlapped at the zone with blue. Blue fouls yellow. Yellow can argue that blue should have gone behind black and give her room to do the same, therefore, she should be exonerated for fouling black hard to tell when green entered zone if she is ahead of blue and yellow, need more info
  6. farr 47

    Nautilus is the old goblin, owned by Lindy Thomas. The sea scouts have had the boat for 5+ years. Im sure it would need quite a bit of work and the sails are old. If you post in the Chicago area III thread, many of them will have more info.
  7. Hypothetical Rules question:  Downwind start.

    Wrong, they are talking about doing this just before the start. If they make it to pre-start side of the line before the gun, this is fine. However, if the gun goes off and they are ocs, they immediately lose their rights and will probably break a rule.
  8. Start Rules Question with Video

    looks like a foul to me. they go from starboard right to windward give during the gybe. they don't get mark room. you clearly had to avoid them. if they had turned to DDW at that mark, they would have been ROW and as long as they gave you room to avoid, they could have then gybed and had the room from the mark they needed.
  9. Rule 18.3 technical question

    Be carful here, you do have to sail above close hauled to keep clear, and then protest him for your having to sail above CH. if you decide to not sail above close hauled, and he has to avoid you, you brake rrs 11, whether or not he broke 18.3.
  10. Chicago Area III

    We still have 15 days til the start of the season, they still have heaps of time to get us all registered, get certs in and checked, waivers, etc. You had to know that this was going to be fucked up the first season, don't you remember when they needed Don to take over for the old system, took him a year to get it all straightened out. They will probably won't have it up in time and will have to do it all by hand for the first 2 days. Luckily, they aren't in charge of another race until Chi-Wau and not very many race those first 2 days.
  11. Rules Question: Mark and immediately following obstruction

    You were bound by RRS 18.4 to not sail past you proper course before you gybe. That forces you to gybe before heading to the shallow water, which in turn puts the outside boat in a leeward ROW position. They aren't bound by RRS 17, since they got a new overlap during the gybes. Your mark room stops as soon as your stern leaves the mark behind, that said, it doesn't matter. Since you have now become the windward boat in the rounding, you can't take more room away from the mark that the room you need to pass the mark safely. Now that you are passed the mark, the leeward boat can luff you head to wind if they want. Even if they were bound by RRS17, they still have the right to stay at their safe distance from the sallow water.
  12. Chicago Area III

    They had 10-18 each night sometimes more. Most nights were oversubscribed. It was very successful.
  13. RRS 20 hail when no Obstruction

    I disagree, I've hailed boats that is time to go or let's tack, etc. if you tell a boat you need room for a ROW or an obstruction, that is different.
  14. RRS 20 hail when no Obstruction

    If red hailed and there was no ROW boat or other obstruction around, i would always find that red broke RRS 2, giving Yellow the ability to get redress. also, if i were yellow, i would respond you tack, instead of tacking. then avoid red, but stay very close, maybe then you can get to the layline.
  15. Sailboat rental

    http://www.beyc.com/