• Announcements

    • Zapata

      Abbreviated rules   07/28/2017

      Underdawg did an excellent job of explaining the rules.  Here's the simplified version: Don't insinuate Pedo.  Warning and or timeout for a first offense.  PermaFlick for any subsequent offenses Don't out members.  See above for penalties.  Caveat:  if you have ever used your own real name or personal information here on the forums since, like, ever - it doesn't count and you are fair game. If you see spam posts, report it to the mods.  We do not hang out in every thread 24/7 If you see any of the above, report it to the mods by hitting the Report button in the offending post.   We do not take action for foul language, off-subject content, or abusive behavior unless it escalates to persistent stalking.  There may be times that we might warn someone or flick someone for something particularly egregious.  There is no standard, we will know it when we see it.  If you continually report things that do not fall into rules #1 or 2 above, you may very well get a timeout yourself for annoying the Mods with repeated whining.  Use your best judgement. Warnings, timeouts, suspensions and flicks are arbitrary and capricious.  Deal with it.  Welcome to anarchy.   If you are a newbie, there are unwritten rules to adhere to.  They will be explained to you soon enough.  

SailChiTown

Members
  • Content count

    198
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About SailChiTown

  • Rank
    Anarchist

Recent Profile Visitors

3,017 profile views
  1. Calling/denying buoy room

    The RRS clearly establish, 3 boat lengths as the zone of a mark. There is no explicit protocol for calling a zone however; RRS 18.2e says that any doubt of a change to the overlap or not overlap at the zone, shall be presumed that it did not change. Therefore, my approach to a mark, i always call the zone (either overlapped or not overlapped) at 4 boat lengths. so as to establish an agreed upon condition before the zone. Normally they yell back, "we aren't at the zone yet", to which i just reply with the same assertion of the overlap. Then when we get to the 3 BL zone, i just repeat my positionion, and that's when they start arguing about the overlap. that is when i have won the debate.
  2. Rules of the "Road"

    No OA or RC worth anything would put them on the same course
  3. Rules??

    In match racing rules, you haven't completed your gybe until your sail mostly fills on the other board. In this case, the sail never filled. Audi never established Starboard, still give under 13 until well after contact.
  4. Rules??

    In match racing, very little is considered unseamanlike...they toss those boats around so quick.
  5. Rules??

    No, the give boat always loses on RRS 14.
  6. Rules??

    In the US, we find it very difficult to penalize the ROW boat for 15, without contact. I'm not saying it never happens, I've only seen it once in 60 events
  7. Rules??

    Audi is ahead of Bavaria. At about 12sec, Bavaria becomes overlapped to leeward, giving room for RRS15. Audi, as the windward, give way boat, at 20 sec, turns uncontrollably directly in front of Bavaria. Bavaria, turns to windward, rounding up behind Audi to avoid contact. One could argue that Bavaria lost control right after Audi, if that's true, ok; but it doesn't change the rules. Had Bavaria not changed course when she did, there would have been much more damage with a full on T-bone. A crash gybe to do with Audi, was not practical. Audi broke RRS 11, Bavaria breaks RRS 14, but is not penalized as, from the time that is was clear that Audi wasn't keeping clear, bavaria did everything she could to avoid contact.
  8. Leeward Gate Best Practices

    Mixed fleets, 6 lengths of the longest boat. Single fleet, 6-7 lengths. One key to gates, re-square the gate as the first boats get to windward mark, nothing I kate worse than having a gate and the whole fleet goes around one side. It's not considered a mark move to square a gate.
  9. Rule 17 - Proper Course rule question

    diagram would have helped, your post said LH gate, took that to mean left turn mark. What you have here is a clear violation of RRS 18.2b. green gets to sail to the mark and then proper course to round the mark.the moment either enters the zone, red has to come down.
  10. Rule 17 - Proper Course rule question

    saw your diagram, was thinking the other gate mark.
  11. Rule 17 - Proper Course rule question

    The key point here is, when B gybed on to starboard, were they overlapped or, was A ever clear ahead after B crossed DDW. From the sound of it, B was overlapped. In that case, RRS 17 is off, since B didn't come from behind, inside 2 boat lengths. Therefore, she has what we call full luffing rights, can go all the way head to wind. Also, the zone doesn't matter much because, B is the ROW boat and RRS 18 doesn't limit the inside ROW boat from luffing at a gate mark.
  12. 3Di NorDac

    J105's and T10s require woven dacron, so these sails wouldn't work for them...
  13. Windward Mark Roundings

    Red boat only has 3 positions. Hard to figure out her and who she might have fouled Black has room on everyone, blue fouls her Yellow is inside overlapped at the zone with blue. Blue fouls yellow. Yellow can argue that blue should have gone behind black and give her room to do the same, therefore, she should be exonerated for fouling black hard to tell when green entered zone if she is ahead of blue and yellow, need more info
  14. farr 47

    Nautilus is the old goblin, owned by Lindy Thomas. The sea scouts have had the boat for 5+ years. Im sure it would need quite a bit of work and the sails are old. If you post in the Chicago area III thread, many of them will have more info.
  15. Hypothetical Rules question:  Downwind start.

    Wrong, they are talking about doing this just before the start. If they make it to pre-start side of the line before the gun, this is fine. However, if the gun goes off and they are ocs, they immediately lose their rights and will probably break a rule.