lurker54

Members
  • Content count

    43
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About lurker54

  • Rank
    Newbie

Recent Profile Visitors

1,502 profile views
  1. lurker54

    Rules??

    You are right. I mistook his leg for the tiller. Sorry
  2. lurker54

    Rules??

    I think there was spinnaker to backstay contact @14. Hard to tell from the video, but the umps were in the right spot to see if there were. You can hear yelling and see the driver on B throw a flag right at that point (if you play the video at slower speed you can see him under the jib on Y) @21 the Y round up is most certainly uncontrolled - unless tillers work opposite on Bavaria boats
  3. lurker54

    What new AC 36 Class boat would you like ?

    How about a modern version of a Chesapeake Log Canoe? Spectacular capsizes for the Red Bull/Facebook generation. Check. Canvas enough to be a sailmakers wet dream. "I think I've found a way for us to add another 3 sq ft". Check Athletic movement of hiking boards makes more sense to spectators than hamsters/cyclors/grinders pumping oil. Check. Mizzen trimmer sitting on the bumpkin, so usually a light weight female crew member => mixed crews. Check. Position in crew for owner/celebrity guest as "boardmen" Check.
  4. lurker54

    Live Racing Thread

    Absolutely
  5. lurker54

    Live Racing Thread

    Red boats don't work in America's Cup. They seem to be cursed. Mariner, Il Moro, NZL-20
  6. lurker54

    Live Racing Thread

    I think the penalty question boils down to when is the penalty "get behind" and when is it "Lose two boat lengths". For the answer to that, look at rule 44.2 in https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&pid=sites&srcid=YWNyYWNlbWd0LmNvbXxub3RpY2Vib2FyZHxneDoxMDMyMWFiNDFiYzIyYzU2 tl;dr; a ) penalty before the start => lose two b ) OSC => get behind c ) Part 2 infraction on same leg or in the zone => get behind 4 ) all others => lose two So in the situation that caused all these questions, NZL and GBR were most def not on the same leg, so it could only be d) lose two. And the response from the official twitter, utter covfefe
  7. lurker54

    Live Racing Thread

    Or just read the rules. If the boats are on the same leg or in the zone, it's 44.2 (c), and the penalized boat has to drop 2 hull lenghts behind the other. As BAR and ETNZ were very much on different legs, we go to 44.2 (d), and there the penalty is to reduce VMG until she loses two hull lengths compared to the other boat.
  8. lurker54

    Live Racing Thread

    Ben went down a few degrees after ETNZ started bearing off. That enough to be hunting and throwing away the penalty. Ben should have kept the wheel steady
  9. lurker54

    Live Racing Thread

    Maersk has been a sponsor for ETNZ for a long time. They were onboard in SF as well.
  10. lurker54

    Team NZ

    The Arab team boards seem to start boiling & slow down much earlier than the Brit ones, looking at the vids. Brits? You mean team Tata Motors from India?
  11. lurker54

    Who wants to try my new sailing app?

    I think that is a line from "The Usual Suspects" - When Verbal points out that the crew of the boat is jabbering away in Hungarian rather than Russian. Which is a clue that Verbal is actually Keyser Soze. That. And the screenshots are from Lake Balaton and shows the carrier as "Vodafone HU"
  12. lurker54

    Oracle Team USA

    Well, that to be honest that has been the Oracle brand for decades now http://www.forbes.com/forbes/1999/0920/6407050a.html My favourite part: Ellison says the ads will continue unchanged. Go ahead and sue, he jeers: “We have more lawyers than they have programmers.”