• Announcements

    • Zapata

      Abbreviated rules   07/28/2017

      Underdawg did an excellent job of explaining the rules.  Here's the simplified version: Don't insinuate Pedo.  Warning and or timeout for a first offense.  PermaFlick for any subsequent offenses Don't out members.  See above for penalties.  Caveat:  if you have ever used your own real name or personal information here on the forums since, like, ever - it doesn't count and you are fair game. If you see spam posts, report it to the mods.  We do not hang out in every thread 24/7 If you see any of the above, report it to the mods by hitting the Report button in the offending post.   We do not take action for foul language, off-subject content, or abusive behavior unless it escalates to persistent stalking.  There may be times that we might warn someone or flick someone for something particularly egregious.  There is no standard, we will know it when we see it.  If you continually report things that do not fall into rules #1 or 2 above, you may very well get a timeout yourself for annoying the Mods with repeated whining.  Use your best judgement. Warnings, timeouts, suspensions and flicks are arbitrary and capricious.  Deal with it.  Welcome to anarchy.   If you are a newbie, there are unwritten rules to adhere to.  They will be explained to you soon enough.  

Liquid

Members
  • Content count

    2,249
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Liquid

  • Rank
    Anarchist

Contact Methods

  • Website URL
    http://
  • ICQ
    0

Profile Information

  • Location
    Portland, OR area
  1. That is the question... and when you look at the screen grab above with the assist of you folks, the line off of ETNZ's sterns show OTUSA had the overlap. Good call then!
  2. So, back to the bowsprit then
  3. Wait, overlap is not defined by a 1 boat length over lap, or is that an AC rule? I thought it was your bow versus their stern?
  4. What about this part; (ii) if yachts are not overlapped, the yacht that has not reached the zone shall thereafter give mark-room. I guess I need a lesson on an overlap. Seems ETNZ had the overlap but I reserve the right to be wrong...
  5. but ETNZ was first, so who had the overlap? Doesn't the first boat have the overlap?
  6. A tad too close...
  7. Nah, fully extended leeward foil would stop them from crushing the leeward boat. BAR took the most damage.
  8. ^ the vid above says something else... Now I'm confused, which is a state normal to me!
  9. I did not take into account the bow sprit... that may be the extra few feet needed as I was looking at hulls only
  10. Sooo, bad call?
  11. Agreed, I didn't think OTUS had it either... Not quite 40 knts tho. See your screen grab above. At these speeds we almost need a replay rule... Do judges have access to the overhead views - with the circle graphic?
  12. Watch it again from BAR's rear camera. Kenny called it, BAR went high up on the foil and slid/slipped into/onto SBTJ. EDIT: I didn't see any evasive action from BAR, they seemed to just straight line it...
  13. good point, hadn't even thought about that. I just believe there was a lot of sandbagging in practice races...
  14. sandbagging stops when the first REAL start gun goes off
  15. Here's a cool one, drones and math! https://www.ted.com/playlists/135/will_drones_save_us_or_destroy