• Announcements

    • UnderDawg

      A Few Simple Rules   05/22/2017

      Sailing Anarchy is a very lightly moderated site. This is by design, to afford a more free atmosphere for discussion. There are plenty of sailing forums you can go to where swearing isn't allowed, confrontation is squelched and, and you can have a moderator finger-wag at you for your attitude. SA tries to avoid that and allow for more adult behavior without moderators editing your posts and whacking knuckles with rulers. We don't have a long list of published "thou shalt nots" either, and this is by design. Too many absolute rules paints us into too many corners. So check the Terms of Service - there IS language there about certain types of behavior that is not permitted. We interpret that lightly and permit a lot of latitude, but we DO reserve the right to take action when something is too extreme to tolerate (too racist, graphic, violent, misogynistic, etc.). Yes, that is subjective, but it allows us discretion. Avoiding a laundry list of rules allows for freedom; don't abuse it. However there ARE a few basic rules that will earn you a suspension, and apparently a brief refresher is in order. 1) Allegations of pedophilia - there is no tolerance for this. So if you make allegations, jokes, innuendo or suggestions about child molestation, child pornography, abuse or inappropriate behavior with minors etc. about someone on this board you will get a time out. This is pretty much automatic; this behavior can have real world effect and is not acceptable. Obviously the subject is not banned when discussion of it is apropos, e.g. talking about an item in the news for instance. But allegations or references directed at or about another poster is verboten. 2) Outing people - providing real world identifiable information about users on the forums who prefer to remain anonymous. Yes, some of us post with our real names - not a problem to use them. However many do NOT, and if you find out someone's name keep it to yourself, first or last. This also goes for other identifying information too - employer information etc. You don't need too many pieces of data to figure out who someone really is these days. Depending on severity you might get anything from a scolding to a suspension - so don't do it. I know it can be confusing sometimes for newcomers, as SA has been around almost twenty years and there are some people that throw their real names around and their current Display Name may not match the name they have out in the public. But if in doubt, you don't want to accidentally out some one so use caution, even if it's a personal friend of yours in real life. 3) Posting While Suspended - If you've earned a timeout (these are fairly rare and hard to get), please observe the suspension. If you create a new account (a "Sock Puppet") and return to the forums to post with it before your suspension is up you WILL get more time added to your original suspension and lose your Socks. This behavior may result a permanent ban, since it shows you have zero respect for the few rules we have and the moderating team that is tasked with supporting them. Check the Terms of Service you agreed to; they apply to the individual agreeing, not the account you created, so don't try to Sea Lawyer us if you get caught. Just don't do it. Those are the three that will almost certainly get you into some trouble. IF YOU SEE SOMEONE DO ONE OF THESE THINGS, please do the following: Refrain from quoting the offending text, it makes the thread cleanup a pain in the rear Press the Report button; it is by far the best way to notify Admins as we will get e-mails. Calling out for Admins in the middle of threads, sending us PM's, etc. - there is no guarantee we will get those in a timely fashion. There are multiple Moderators in multiple time zones around the world, and anyone one of us can handle the Report and all of us will be notified about it. But if you PM one Mod directly and he's off line, the problem will get dealt with much more slowly. Other behaviors that you might want to think twice before doing include: Intentionally disrupting threads and discussions repeatedly. Off topic/content free trolling in threads to disrupt dialog Stalking users around the forums with the intent to disrupt content and discussion Repeated posting of overly graphic or scatological porn content. There are plenty web sites for you to get your freak on, don't do it here. And a brief note to Newbies... No, we will not ban people or censor them for dropping F-bombs on you, using foul language, etc. so please don't report it when one of our members gives you a greeting you may find shocking. We do our best not to censor content here and playing swearword police is not in our job descriptions. Sailing Anarchy is more like a bar than a classroom, so handle it like you would meeting someone a little coarse - don't look for the teacher. Thanks.

John Ball

Members
  • Content count

    179
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About John Ball

  • Rank
    Anarchist
  1. The IOM World Championship featuring 76 top skippers from around the world, is under way in Pierrelatte in the south of France. There are live video feeds of the racing, click on the video on the regatta home page. Here is the link to the web site. http://www.iomwc2017.vrc-pierrelatte.com/ John
  2. The IOM WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP 2017 is coming soon - Friday 12 to Saturday 20 May. Here is the event web site. http://www.iomwc2017.vrc-pierrelatte.com/ Here is a great intro video John
  3. If you look at the stats of how many are selling and being registered with their National Authorities and going racing - they are way cool! John
  4. Choosing a boat is like religion - each has its acolytes. I would suggest a better combo would be Dragonforce 65 to DragonFlite 95. But if you want to race against the best RC sailors, then IOM is the answer. John
  5. Unless there is a local DF65 fleet, get the DF95 - it is a much better experience. Bigger boat - sails faster and is easier to see. John
  6. Thanks Guys. Great help. John
  7. Does a 'specified' hail apply even if the conditions for the rule under which the hail is made does not exist? R 20 specifies a hail and the required response. If a boat hails for Room to Tack but there is no obstruction, does R20.2 still apply. Two boats are approaching the lay line and Red wants to tack, but is blocked by Yellow. So she hails for room to tack. Yellow is still below the lay line. Does R 20.2 still apply? If Yellow tacks she will be below the mark. Being able to protest Red for an improper hail still leaves Yellow with a disadvantage.Can Yellow tell Red to "Get Lost "? without breaking parts of R 20.2. John
  8. Wrong. If you were careless enough to let them go between you and the RC then they are within their rights and you cannot luff them into the RC. OF course we are talking generally here. Wrong. We have this discussion every year; sometimes several times a year. There is always somebody who believes in the 'Open Door' theory of barging/starting. Can any person show us an "Open Door" rule in the book which either grants Mark-Room at the start, or confers right-of-way to Windward under some special circumstances? RRS-open-door02b.gif In this scenario, which boats gets a DSQ? FB- Doug Sorry Doug, but not I disagree. In you diagram yes, Windward gets DSQ, as Leeward did not alter course. But if Leeward alters course and luffs windward into the RC, then leeward breaks R 16.1. Under 16.1, L has to give room to W when she alters course to luff - and room includes W's obligation under R 31 - don't hit a mark. So if you want to close the door - do it early enough so that windward may respond by staying clear without hitting anything.. John
  9. DSQ Yellow, RRS10. DSQ Blue RRS 14 (failing to avoid causing damage) JOhn
  10. There is a (new) wrinkle in R 18 when both boats tack in the zone such that R 18.3 does not apply. See Rob Overton's blog, especially the first comment. http://racingrulesblog.blogspot.co.uk/ (note - I sail RC and so Appendix E and 4 length zone) - but he same situation may be drawn with a 3 length zone) Green enters the zone still on port and passes htw to stbd insie the zone to fetch the mark. Yellow tacks from port to stbd inside Green. From the blog - once Yellow passes htw, and even though the tack in not completed, Yellow is now on stbd and Green become overlapped and R 18.2.a applies. This gives Mark Room to Yellow and so she is exonerated under R 21 if she breaks R 13... My question is does (new) R 18.2.e apply - and how? (e) If there is reasonable doubt that a boat obtained or broke an overlap in time, it shall be presumed that she did not. Is this a valid defense for Green if the boats are close when Yellow passes htw and the overlap begins? John
  11. Here is a diagram as close as I can make it to fit the description. Yellow is at fault under R 10 P/S John
  12. No R 18 here as it does not apply at a mark when boats are on opposite tacks while beating to weather - Just R10 Port/Stbd. John
  13. I have made a diagram that tries to show the challenge in determining whether Yellow breaks the New R 18.3 or not. Under the current R 18.3 there is no problem. Green is on stbd and Yellow tacks in the zone. Then Yellow luffs to clear the mark, forcing Green above close hauled. Yellow breaks R 18.3 However under the new 2017-2020 wording of R 18.3, we have to go back and determine where Green completed her tack - inside or outside the zone - and we don't have the benefit of a nice circle in the water to help. If Green completed her tack before entering the zone, then the answer is the same as the old rule- above. However if Green completes her tack inside the zone, then R 18.3 does not apply. If 18.3 does not apply then R 18.2 does, and now Yellow gets Mark Room at P4 under R 18.2.a. If there were contact at P5, Green would be penalised for failing to give mark room. This will be a very difficult case to hear in the protest room due to the difficulty in placing where Green completed her tack relative to the zone. John
  14. There is a change - see the underscore Current wording in 18.3 18.3 Tacking in the Zone If a boat in the zone passes head to wind and is then on the same tack as a boat that is fetching the mark, New wording in 18.3 18.3 Tacking in the Zone If a boat in the zone of a mark to be left to port passes head to wind from port to starboard tack and is then fetching the mark, she shall not cause a boat that has been on starboard tack since entering the zone to sail above close-hauled
  15. I am not happy with the new 18.3 for several reasons - When these rules in their current format were introduced in 1996, the intent was to 'simplify' the rules. but the new R 18.3 now gives us different rules for port and stbd roundings on a beat. But to me the bigger problem is now there is a new 'fact' to be established for port roundings. Under current 18.3, if you tack inside a stbd tack boat that is fetching the mark, you may not cause them to sail above close hauled. That is straight forward and easy to apply. Under the new R 18.3, you now have to determine if the boat was already fetching the mark on stbd from outside the zone. If they were already on stbd, then the above close hauled restriction is still there, but if they completed their tack inside the zone, then 18.3 does not apply, and that means that 18.2 applies, and we now use R 18.2.a. So now, the inside boat that tacked gets mark room and the outside boat may have to go above close hauled. This means that we may now have to determine where a tack was completed relative to the location of the zone. and life just got more complicated! John