• Announcements

    • Zapata

      Abbreviated rules   07/28/2017

      Underdawg did an excellent job of explaining the rules.  Here's the simplified version: Don't insinuate Pedo.  Warning and or timeout for a first offense.  PermaFlick for any subsequent offenses Don't out members.  See above for penalties.  Caveat:  if you have ever used your own real name or personal information here on the forums since, like, ever - it doesn't count and you are fair game. If you see spam posts, report it to the mods.  We do not hang out in every thread 24/7 If you see any of the above, report it to the mods by hitting the Report button in the offending post.   We do not take action for foul language, off-subject content, or abusive behavior unless it escalates to persistent stalking.  There may be times that we might warn someone or flick someone for something particularly egregious.  There is no standard, we will know it when we see it.  If you continually report things that do not fall into rules #1 or 2 above, you may very well get a timeout yourself for annoying the Mods with repeated whining.  Use your best judgement. Warnings, timeouts, suspensions and flicks are arbitrary and capricious.  Deal with it.  Welcome to anarchy.   If you are a newbie, there are unwritten rules to adhere to.  They will be explained to you soon enough.  

JohnMB

Members
  • Content count

    1,834
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

5 Neutral

About JohnMB

  • Rank
    Anarchist

Profile Information

  • Location
    Evanston
  • Interests
    Sailing
  1. Don't impede the regatta (rowers)

    No, it would be a poor steerer who was not aware of boats that are ahead of them. The issue here is a racing issue, if a boat has caught you, they have already beaten you, and you should be getting out of their way. Maybe a novice sculler gets some latitude, but if you steering a light 4 or pair, your awareness of traffic makes a difference, and steering a head race is a load easier that steering in regular river traffic. I've never raced on the Charles but on the tideway if you are steering, current is king, and you had better know where the boat should be positioned for maximum advantage. I used to have all the main position marks on the tideway memorised for flood and ebb, and for some critical points in between. You also need to be willing to fight for your lane, coxes will push you around given half a chance, and your crew needs to know if you are having to push back.
  2. Don't impede the regatta (rowers)

    I guess. I was basing my comment on the fact that a lever is a simple machine, but there are other reasons for oars not fitting here.
  3. Don't impede the regatta (rowers)

    rowing vessels are propelled by machinery so they are power driven. a racing shell is very restricted in maneuverability.
  4. Don't impede the regatta (rowers)

    This place just wouldn't be the same without misinformed rants based on insufficient information.
  5. you make the call

    A 'change' doesn't trigger any requirement to give room to keep clear. A change of course does.
  6. you make the call

    True, but it also does not turn it on. IF the keep clear boat has to give room to keep clear, this includes room to keep clear of the kite going up. (in its normal way) BUT The keep clear boat has to keep clear sufficiently to allow for the kite to go up. The keep clear boat cannot stay so close that it is impossible for the Keep Clear boat to get their equipment into its normal position. The same applies for things like crew on trapeze, if W and L are sailing together upwind, W if not keeping clear if she doesn't give L enough space for the crew to come out IF that is what the would normally do. R15 and R16 only require the keep clear boat to give room to keep clear under specific circumstances, when acquiring RoW and when changing course. There is no requirement to keep clear turned on by, hoisting a new sail, crew hiking harder, easing a sail etc.
  7. you make the call

    No, raising the spinnaker does not turn on R15 (or R16).
  8. you make the call

    R14 I would agree with. But that still leaves P breaking R10, and S only gets DSQ for R14 because of the damage.
  9. it's a bit convoluted, because the zone is used in a couple of places in the rules. So it doesn't affect R18.2(b) rights because they are set when the boats enter the zone. BUT it can effect whether a boat leaves the zone or not a. As in this case, the question of whether the OP left the zone or not, depends on the newly defined zone.
  10. you make the call

    R14 I'll buy, but this doesn't get rid of P's R10 obligations/
  11. you make the call

    What do you mean 'established' ? P has to keep clear from moment to moment depending on S's course. if P makes no effort to keep clear, its hard to show that S did not give her room to keep clear.
  12. you make the call

    there is no rule that S has to give P time (or room) to avoid when setting a spinnaker. there is a rule that S has to give P room to avoid when changing course. What rule does S break?
  13. you make the call

    Hoisting a kite is a normal part of sailing the course S was on. Port is obliged to keep clear, stb has to give room if she changes course, but there is no rule that obliges her to give room if stb hoists her kite. If Port claims she kept clear she has to show that the kite was not in its normal position, In the case book case 77 and 91 are worth reading. case 77 deals with a kite that moved unexpectedly out of its normal position. To me ports obligation to keep clear includes an obligation to keep clear of a spinnaker hoist that should be expected and in which the kite does not get substantially out of control.
  14. It gets turned off if a boat passes head to wind. (the other two situations don't matter for this purpose, see R18.2(d)) For example if B enters the zone clear ahead of Y, and both are on starboard sailing upwind. If B then tacks she looses R18.2b, but R18 doesn't apply. If she tacks again, R18 does apply, BUT R18.2b does not...... so now we just have R18.2a. (all assuming that R18.3 doesn't apply, which it frequently will) :0
  15. Which is why in the segment you quoted that Brass specifically called out R18.2(a). The point is that when R18.2(b) DOESN'T apply you only have R18.2(a) to fall back on. and that R18.2(a) DOES require an overlap.