• Announcements

    • Zapata

      Abbreviated rules   07/28/2017

      Underdawg did an excellent job of explaining the rules.  Here's the simplified version: Don't insinuate Pedo.  Warning and or timeout for a first offense.  PermaFlick for any subsequent offenses Don't out members.  See above for penalties.  Caveat:  if you have ever used your own real name or personal information here on the forums since, like, ever - it doesn't count and you are fair game. If you see spam posts, report it to the mods.  We do not hang out in every thread 24/7 If you see any of the above, report it to the mods by hitting the Report button in the offending post.   We do not take action for foul language, off-subject content, or abusive behavior unless it escalates to persistent stalking.  There may be times that we might warn someone or flick someone for something particularly egregious.  There is no standard, we will know it when we see it.  If you continually report things that do not fall into rules #1 or 2 above, you may very well get a timeout yourself for annoying the Mods with repeated whining.  Use your best judgement. Warnings, timeouts, suspensions and flicks are arbitrary and capricious.  Deal with it.  Welcome to anarchy.   If you are a newbie, there are unwritten rules to adhere to.  They will be explained to you soon enough.  

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Brass

OCS or BFD - Is BFD supposed to work like this?

Recommended Posts

Under a black flag start, can a boat be OCS and not be BFD?

Absolutely.

 

30.3 Black Flag Rule

If a black flag has been displayed, no part of a boat's hull, crew or

equipment shall be in the triangle formed by the ends of the starting

line and the first mark during the last minute before her starting signal.

post-9010-047020400 1330577106_thumb.gif

 

If you click on the image (so you can actually see it) the boats immediately to windward of the signal boat and pin boat are OCS (On Course Side) at the starting signal, but not BFD (provided that they got there without ever being in the triangle - rotate the boat by the pin 180 degrees if it makes you feel better).

 

There is no requirement to "go around the ends" in 30.3, so dip starts are legal - as long as you're not in the triangle from a minute before the start until the start.

 

Of course, they would have to dip down completely below the line in order to start properly, in which case, they are no longer OCS. However, according to the definition of OCS:

OCS Did not start; on the course side of the starting line at her

starting signal and failed to start, or broke rule 30.1

so if they don't start properly, they are scored OCS.

 

So a boat can be OCS on a black flag start and not be BFD.

 

There was a bit of discussion in the other thread about whether this was right or wrong, or a good thing or a bad thing.

 

So, at a Black Flag start, a Race Office, in a starboard end race committee boat, makes the starting signal, happy that his voice recorder has got all the BFD miscreants, then about 10 seconds later sees a boat, an entrant in the class just started, approach from over his right shoulder, on the course side of the race committee boat, from outside the course,

 

1. The boat crosses the starting line from the course side to the pre-start side entirely, then starts in the direction of the first mark:

 

HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

 

2. The boat dips back, obviously trying to dip-start, but does not completely cross the starting line onto the pre-start side before hardening on and sailing off in the direction of the first mark

 

NOW, HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

 

Any difference between what you think the RO is likely to do and what the rules discussion above indicates is the correct thing to do?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Under a black flag start, can a boat be OCS and not be BFD?

Absolutely.

 

30.3 Black Flag Rule

If a black flag has been displayed, no part of a boat's hull, crew or

equipment shall be in the triangle formed by the ends of the starting

line and the first mark during the last minute before her starting signal.

post-9010-047020400 1330577106_thumb.gif

 

If you click on the image (so you can actually see it) the boats immediately to windward of the signal boat and pin boat are OCS (On Course Side) at the starting signal, but not BFD (provided that they got there without ever being in the triangle - rotate the boat by the pin 180 degrees if it makes you feel better).

 

There is no requirement to "go around the ends" in 30.3, so dip starts are legal - as long as you're not in the triangle from a minute before the start until the start.

 

Of course, they would have to dip down completely below the line in order to start properly, in which case, they are no longer OCS. However, according to the definition of OCS:

OCS Did not start; on the course side of the starting line at her

starting signal and failed to start, or broke rule 30.1

so if they don't start properly, they are scored OCS.

 

So a boat can be OCS on a black flag start and not be BFD.

 

There was a bit of discussion in the other thread about whether this was right or wrong, or a good thing or a bad thing.

 

So, at a Black Flag start, a Race Office, in a starboard end race committee boat, makes the starting signal, happy that his voice recorder has got all the BFD miscreants, then about 10 seconds later sees a boat, an entrant in the class just started, approach from over his right shoulder, on the course side of the race committee boat, from outside the course,

 

1. The boat crosses the starting line from the course side to the pre-start side entirely, then starts in the direction of the first mark:

 

HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

 

2. The boat dips back, obviously trying to dip-start, but does not completely cross the starting line onto the pre-start side before hardening on and sailing off in the direction of the first mark

 

NOW, HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

 

Any difference between what you think the RO is likely to do and what the rules discussion above indicates is the correct thing to do?

 

You forgot (or left out) the fact that in 2, the boat HAS NOT complied with the definition of start.

 

post-1322-025655900 1330649759_thumb.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Under a black flag start, can a boat be OCS and not be BFD?

Absolutely.

 

30.3 Black Flag Rule

If a black flag has been displayed, no part of a boat's hull, crew or

equipment shall be in the triangle formed by the ends of the starting

line and the first mark during the last minute before her starting signal.

post-9010-047020400 1330577106_thumb.gif

 

If you click on the image (so you can actually see it) the boats immediately to windward of the signal boat and pin boat are OCS (On Course Side) at the starting signal, but not BFD (provided that they got there without ever being in the triangle - rotate the boat by the pin 180 degrees if it makes you feel better).

 

There is no requirement to "go around the ends" in 30.3, so dip starts are legal - as long as you're not in the triangle from a minute before the start until the start.

 

Of course, they would have to dip down completely below the line in order to start properly, in which case, they are no longer OCS. However, according to the definition of OCS:

OCS Did not start; on the course side of the starting line at her

starting signal and failed to start, or broke rule 30.1

so if they don't start properly, they are scored OCS.

 

So a boat can be OCS on a black flag start and not be BFD.

 

There was a bit of discussion in the other thread about whether this was right or wrong, or a good thing or a bad thing.

 

So, at a Black Flag start, a Race Office, in a starboard end race committee boat, makes the starting signal, happy that his voice recorder has got all the BFD miscreants, then about 10 seconds later sees a boat, an entrant in the class just started, approach from over his right shoulder, on the course side of the race committee boat, from outside the course,

 

1. The boat crosses the starting line from the course side to the pre-start side entirely, then starts in the direction of the first mark:

 

HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

 

2. The boat dips back, obviously trying to dip-start, but does not completely cross the starting line onto the pre-start side before hardening on and sailing off in the direction of the first mark

 

NOW, HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

 

Any difference between what you think the RO is likely to do and what the rules discussion above indicates is the correct thing to do?

 

I think Hobie has it right, kind of. That boat may be in the direction of the first mark, but by the black flag rules, they aren't technically OCS.

 

1-The RO may not get the call completely correct because it can be tough to keep track of a larger fleet, but redress should take care of it.

 

2- The boat never technically started, so therefore should be called DNS. Doesn't matter if it's a black flag or not, they never actually started.

 

Don't have a rule book handy, but I could probably cite some rule numbers/definitions if you would like.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There was a bit of discussion in the other thread about whether this was right or wrong, or a good thing or a bad thing.

 

So, at a Black Flag start, a Race Office, in a starboard end race committee boat, makes the starting signal, happy that his voice recorder has got all the BFD miscreants, then about 10 seconds later sees a boat, an entrant in the class just started, approach from over his right shoulder, on the course side of the race committee boat, from outside the course,

 

1. The boat crosses the starting line from the course side to the pre-start side entirely, then starts in the direction of the first mark:

 

HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

Whatevere the boate plaices :)

 

2. The boat dips back, obviously trying to dip-start, but does not completely cross the starting line onto the pre-start side before hardening on and sailing off in the direction of the first mark

 

NOW, HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

 

Any difference between what you think the RO is likely to do and what the rules discussion above indicates is the correct thing to do?

DNS :)

 

No OCS in 30.2 ore 30.3 that i see :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[sNIP]

Absolutely.

 

30.3 Black Flag Rule

If a black flag has been displayed, no part of a boat's hull, crew or

equipment shall be in the triangle formed by the ends of the starting

line and the first mark during the last minute before her starting signal.

post-9010-047020400 1330577106_thumb.gif

 

If you click on the image (so you can actually see it) the boats immediately to windward of the signal boat and pin boat are OCS (On Course Side) at the starting signal, but not BFD (provided that they got there without ever being in the triangle - rotate the boat by the pin 180 degrees if it makes you feel better).

 

There is no requirement to "go around the ends" in 30.3, so dip starts are legal - as long as you're not in the triangle from a minute before the start until the start.

 

Of course, they would have to dip down completely below the line in order to start properly, in which case, they are no longer OCS. However, according to the definition of OCS:

OCS Did not start; on the course side of the starting line at her

starting signal and failed to start, or broke rule 30.1

so if they don't start properly, they are scored OCS.

 

So a boat can be OCS on a black flag start and not be BFD.

 

There was a bit of discussion in the other thread about whether this was right or wrong, or a good thing or a bad thing.

 

So, at a Black Flag start, a Race Office, in a starboard end race committee boat, makes the starting signal, happy that his voice recorder has got all the BFD miscreants, then about 10 seconds later sees a boat, an entrant in the class just started, approach from over his right shoulder, on the course side of the race committee boat, from outside the course,

 

1. The boat crosses the starting line from the course side to the pre-start side entirely, then starts in the direction of the first mark:

 

HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

 

2. The boat dips back, obviously trying to dip-start, but does not completely cross the starting line onto the pre-start side before hardening on and sailing off in the direction of the first mark

 

NOW, HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

 

Any difference between what you think the RO is likely to do and what the rules discussion above indicates is the correct thing to do?

 

You forgot (or left out) the fact that in 2, the boat HAS NOT complied with the definition of start.

 

post-1322-025655900 1330649759_thumb.png

 

Which is entirely consistent with a score of OCS. DNS is not a catch-all score for all boats that show up but fail to start.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[sNIP]

Absolutely.

 

30.3 Black Flag Rule

If a black flag has been displayed, no part of a boat's hull, crew or

equipment shall be in the triangle formed by the ends of the starting

line and the first mark during the last minute before her starting signal.

post-9010-047020400 1330577106_thumb.gif

 

If you click on the image (so you can actually see it) the boats immediately to windward of the signal boat and pin boat are OCS (On Course Side) at the starting signal, but not BFD (provided that they got there without ever being in the triangle - rotate the boat by the pin 180 degrees if it makes you feel better).

 

There is no requirement to "go around the ends" in 30.3, so dip starts are legal - as long as you're not in the triangle from a minute before the start until the start.

 

Of course, they would have to dip down completely below the line in order to start properly, in which case, they are no longer OCS. However, according to the definition of OCS:

OCS Did not start; on the course side of the starting line at her

starting signal and failed to start, or broke rule 30.1

so if they don't start properly, they are scored OCS.

 

So a boat can be OCS on a black flag start and not be BFD.

 

There was a bit of discussion in the other thread about whether this was right or wrong, or a good thing or a bad thing.

 

So, at a Black Flag start, a Race Office, in a starboard end race committee boat, makes the starting signal, happy that his voice recorder has got all the BFD miscreants, then about 10 seconds later sees a boat, an entrant in the class just started, approach from over his right shoulder, on the course side of the race committee boat, from outside the course,

 

1. The boat crosses the starting line from the course side to the pre-start side entirely, then starts in the direction of the first mark:

 

HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

 

2. The boat dips back, obviously trying to dip-start, but does not completely cross the starting line onto the pre-start side before hardening on and sailing off in the direction of the first mark

 

NOW, HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

 

Any difference between what you think the RO is likely to do and what the rules discussion above indicates is the correct thing to do?

 

I think Hobie has it right, kind of. That boat may be in the direction of the first mark, but by the black flag rules, they aren't technically OCS.

 

1-The RO may not get the call completely correct because it can be tough to keep track of a larger fleet, but redress should take care of it.

 

2- The boat never technically started, so therefore should be called DNS. Doesn't matter if it's a black flag or not, they never actually started.

 

Don't have a rule book handy, but I could probably cite some rule numbers/definitions if you would like.

 

You state that you agree with Hobie, but you actually seem to be saying something different. Specifically, for case 2 you suggest the score should be DNS, but Hobie thinks it should be OCS - I agree with Hobie.

 

Again, DNS is not the only score for a boat that fails to start - both DNS and OCS are, depending on the circumstances.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

[sNIP]

2. The boat dips back, obviously trying to dip-start, but does not completely cross the starting line onto the pre-start side before hardening on and sailing off in the direction of the first mark

 

NOW, HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

 

Any difference between what you think the RO is likely to do and what the rules discussion above indicates is the correct thing to do?

DNS :)

 

No OCS in 30.2 ore 30.3 that i see :)

 

No mentions of DNS in 30.2 ore 30.3 either...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
merican rules ?

Que?

 

Americans use the same RRS as the rest of us, as far as I am aware.

 

You got something particular in mind?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A11 SCORING ABBREVIATIONS

 

DNS Did not start (other than DNC and OCS)

OCS Did not start; on the course side of the starting line at her starting signal and failed to start, or broke rule 30.1.

 

Nothing more needed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A11 SCORING ABBREVIATIONS

 

DNS Did not start (other than DNC and OCS)

OCS Did not start; on the course side of the starting line at her starting signal and failed to start, or broke rule 30.1.

 

Nothing more needed.

 

BFD - Big Fucking Deal?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

[sNIP]

2. The boat dips back, obviously trying to dip-start, but does not completely cross the starting line onto the pre-start side before hardening on and sailing off in the direction of the first mark

 

NOW, HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

 

Any difference between what you think the RO is likely to do and what the rules discussion above indicates is the correct thing to do?

DNS :)

 

No OCS undere 30.2 ore 30.3 that i see :)

 

No mentions of DNS in 30.2 ore 30.3 either...

fixtit :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
What difference does it make what they get scored. A DNS and an OCS are the same points.

You're quite right. Even a BFD only attracts the same points as a DNF or OCS.

 

The DNS/OCS issue is just an arcane discussion among rules wonks about precise application of the rules.

 

BFD gets a bit more problematical if a boat is wrongly categorised BFD and the race is restarted or resailed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
So, at a Black Flag start, a Race Office, in a starboard end race committee boat, makes the starting signal, happy that his voice recorder has got all the BFD miscreants, then about 10 seconds later sees a boat, an entrant in the class just started, approach from over his right shoulder, on the course side of the race committee boat, from outside the course,

 

1. The boat crosses the starting line from the course side to the pre-start side entirely, then starts in the direction of the first mark:

 

HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

 

2. The boat dips back, obviously trying to dip-start, but does not completely cross the starting line onto the pre-start side before hardening on and sailing off in the direction of the first mark

 

NOW, HOW DO YOU THINK THE RO IS MOST LIKELY TO SCORE THIS BOAT?

 

Any difference between what you think the RO is likely to do and what the rules discussion above indicates is the correct thing to do?

 

So, we're all agreed that it's not likely that the RO will mistakenly BFD the boat in either case?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites