Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Bob Perry

Oregon Offshore Race

ICON , Perry 65'er, breaks the record for the Oregon Offshore Race by 4 hours and 50 minutes.

Congrats to Kevin Welch and the crew of ICON.

Many thanks guys.

ICONVanIsle_zpsc7b74e0d.jpg

It's sad that this great race, 194 miles up the coat of Oregon and Washington to Victoria BC get's so little attention on SA.

Maybe the crews should wear matching outfits, someone suggested.

Maybe they should speak with exotic foreign accents.

Maybe they should live on Chesapeake Bay, maybe San Diego.

We have a vital racing scene here in the great PNW.

One of the guys I've been sailing with for 10+ years now picked up a ride on Icon when she came out here for the Sydney to Hobart many years ago, he had plenty of good things to say about the boat both then and now innovation and performance wise. Still has all the crew gear which also makes regular appearances on our current boats as well.

Beautiful boat, great concept! Congratulations.

I don't want to sound sexist - but that's a real man's race.

more pics and info of the boat please! interior as well. beautiful boat front and back.

Bob,

Will you be in Victoria next week? Want to talk to you about a couple things regarding our boat.

J

Just a friendly observation that not only did "Icon" beat the record, but "Neptune's Car" and "Ocelot" did as well, with "Ocelot" correcting under IRC over both boats, with an IRC corrected finishing order of :

Ocelot

Neptune's Car

Icon

Just 35 minutes separated the 3 yachts on elapsed time, all 3 having beaten the previous record.

Congratulations to the crew of "Icon", as well as the other 2 record beating boats!

Great photo of beautiful ICON. It was fun following the trackers to check the exciting boat speeds and conditions. Fantastic finish times for many boats. : )