Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Eric!

Looking for tips on sailing an 1970's era 18 footer

I just started crewing on a older Aussie 18. It has a symmetrical chute and non-self tacking jib among other complications. We happen to be the only one here in Hawaii and the owners are self-taught.

Are there any resources out there to help coach us through some of the crewing tips? We've been trying to glean information from youtube but it is hard to see the full process in most of the videos because they are such short snips and usually cherry picked action shots.

Books, videos, pretty much anything would probably help us refine our techniques in keeping the mast out of the water.

Thanks,

Eric

Where are you sailing Eric ? How much performance dinghy sailing have you guys done ?

I'd not rush the kite-work until you get good at calling the puff Off as well as On.

We're in Hilo bay and the owners have owned this boat for 20+ years. They spent a little time in Australia sailing it before moving to the Pacific Islands (with the 18 footer) and now the Big Island. There is almost nothing on the older style 18s with symmetrical. You can find a few videos from the 70's but that's about it. They've sailed it for many years and know the boat well, however their technique has been mostly trial and error.

I've been hoping to find something instructional out there we can learn from, but there seems to be nothing I can find relevant to the 18s. All the instruction seems to just be passed person to person at the clubs, etc.

I haven't sailed dinghies before, but I've sailed 30,000+ miles on monohulls and raced quite a bit in the past (with symmetrical too). I know we won't find anything on their style of 18 footer but I'd like to at least borrow some crewing ideas from the other versions.

First you need a De Lorean,and then a Flux Capacitor!.........................from there its easy.