Sign in to follow this  
easyrider

Vimeo and Youtube music copyright

Can someone give me a basic run down on what it takes to keep copyright music in a video online? I've read the FAQ and policies of the 2 major sites and have had a song or two pulled but then notice other cool videos with copyright music not getting canned.

How do they do it?

Do i have to buy a better plan with theses services? Do i need to purchase rights to the song?

Any guidance is appreciated.

you didn't use the right copy - obviously

Thanks for the robust and informative reply Woody.

Anyone else with a little more detail?

The front page had this awesome Vimeo video with fully copyrighted song. How does it not get booted?

I am not a copyright lawyer but have done some consulting in the space so take what I'm about to say with a grain of salt.

Short answer it depends.

Long answer, unlike when you reproduce a recording, download it, or stream it, there is not a predetermined mechanical royalty structure in place. In these cases the royalty amounts are statutorily defined and the collection and distribution of royalties is handled by third parties like Harry Fox. Nor are there the structures in place to collect royalties on the live performance of a copyrighted work. The rights to play music like this is covered by a public performance license that is typically held by the venue and typically covers their playing of prerecorded works and any live acts. The collection and distribution of royalties is handled by third party Performing Rights Organizations (BMI and ASCAP are prime examples) who count as their clients music publishers. The PROs collect data on live performances, collect from venues, and distribute to publishers.