Sign in to follow this  
A guy in the Chesapeake

Anyone ever tie a kite to a SOT kayak?

Was just wondering whether or not anyone had hooked up a kiteboarding kite to a kayak? Seems that it might work, and eliminate the need to have outriggers ala the Hobie AI.

Caveat - if this is a dumb question, mea culpa - I have ZERO experience in this. I ordered a trainer kite a couple days ago - and was just thinking about different ways it might be put to use.

Last May I spent a week camping at Assateague with a couple of friends from college. Two of us are kiters, the other one has a Hobie Tandem Island. One day it wasn't windy enough to kiteboard, but it was windy enough to fly the kite, so we headed out on the kayak. One guy flew the kite with his legs braced on the outriggers, one steered, and I held onto the guy with the kite. We had a good time.. Got some good speed with the 18m kite.

Then we took the kayak into the surf and played around. That was fun. Nearly pitchpoled, but had some good rides.

So, possible, but you need a centerboard to go upwind

Been done by lots of people. They even sell kites (small, single line) specifically for driving a kayak downwind. A trainer kite will do, just don't let it go in the water.

Been done by lots of people. They even sell kites (small, single line) specifically for driving a kayak downwind. A trainer kite will do, just don't let it go in the water.

As a complete and utter newb, can I ask why?

Because it won't relaunch out of the water like an inflatable kite can. So once you crash it, you are done.

As a complete and utter newb, can I ask why?

Because it won't relaunch out of the water like an inflatable kite can. So once you crash it, you are done.

Ahh - didn't realize that the trainer kites didn't have the inflatable leading edge/ribs. Mine's not gotten here yet.

Thanks!

Why limit yourself to one kayak?

RV9mrM1_2_qa3A71hun3xmowhzrmsAZej-_wo0ZE