Savage2288

Brand new and totally ignorant

Hi y'all. I won't ask you to go easy on me. I have a feeling it would be futile. I am just getting started , just picked up my sailboat yesterday, and it was suggested that I post here rather than in Sailing Anarchy. I have purchased a 1972 Clipper Marine 21 that seems to be in serviceable condition to get started with except for the chain plates need some attention and I'm scared of screwing things up worse. No one in my area seems to know what the hell a chain plate is so I decided to ask here since lurking in forums is typically where I have found the most helpful info anyway.

I've got some pictures but it says they are too large to upload. Not sure what to do.

I want to fix them but I am scared of making something worse. Am I even posting this in the right place?

I honestly don't know yet because there is a piece of trim in the way and um.....I have never attempted repairs.....but I'm smart.

I think where to post is somewhat random on this unmoderated forum.   Cruising Anarchy tends to dis little guys playing in small water or marina hopping.   Sailing Anarchy doesn't understand a boat that doesn't exist to race.   I exist to annoy both, but respect the collective knowledge.  

Accessing them will be your first step.   Your photo shows the deck casting but not below the hull / deck seam.   Somehow the load is generally transferred to the hull  to avoid pulling the deck off.   Are there visible bolts where they are fastened to the hull?   Is there a bulkhead in the cabin the load was transferred to?    

7 minutes ago, Lark said:

I think where to post is somewhat random on this unmoderated forum.   Cruising Anarchy tends to dis little guys playing in small water or marina hopping.   Sailing Anarchy doesn't understand a boat that doesn't exist to race.   I exist to annoy both, but respect the collective knowledge.