Sign in to follow this  
Connor.kainalu

Legal "Wingmast" for I/14

I'm getting into the I14 class and have read the rules expressly prohibiting "rotating masts".  In his wonderful book High Performance Sailing, Frank Bethwaite devotes a chapter to the development and efficiency of the wingmast. His data shows a 5-10% increase in rig efficiency. As a designer, I think that I've found a way to get that efficiency from a non-rotating mast. FB mentions that they tried having elongated socks on the sails , but the leading edge was too blunt to stop the air currents from separating. What we were thinking is that we could stop the leading edge from being blunt (and therefore stop or delay the separation altogether) by putting a flexible insert (kind of like the fairing on the front of the mast when he talks about rig flexion) inside the sock, in front of the mast. 

The idea works great until you add a jib, stays and a spinnaker. How would the fairing rotate? How would you hoist the sail?

here are some sketches that portray the idea

Before you start posting about this sort of thing, you should try reading the class rules. I would draw your attention to the following.

12.d All sails shall be capable of being fully lowered while afloat, without detaching the forestay or requiring that the boat be capsized.

Tell us how you intend to get around that rule, because that is the whole ball game. The other problem is making a sail like that work on a non rotating mast. When you have everything tensioned properly, it won't rotate around the mast.

Trying to find a way around this on the I14's (and other classes) is nothing new but nobody has found a way around it yet. Once you find a way to make it work, we can discuss refining the set up but until then, it seems pointless. As an aside, look at the Moth rig to see why the round section mast problem is a bit of a red herring and why it is the least of your challenges.