Sign in to follow this  
BboySlug

49er Updates

There's a 49er for sale near me, it's a pretty great deal. One reservation is that it's a 2004/2005 boat. I've been doing some reading and it looks like in 2009 there were heaps of updates to the 49er. Was wanting to ask the community how much of a difference the upgrades have made? 

I don't intend on going olympic, just getting involved with a new class. 

Auckland... I used to sail Hobie 16s and F18s in Texas. Moved to Auckland shortly after the Commander in Tweets was elected. 

I am still new to this class but my queries of the locals here (Perth) suggested that the new rig and sails was a significant step.  Advice was to crash/bash the old rig while getting up to speed, then charge hard with the new rig as soon as you could.

Were the updates only applicable to the mast/rigging and sail? Or, was there something changed to the hull and/or wings as well? Makay seems to hint that something changed to the wings on their website, going from "sliding" to "pinned" wings or something. 

yep - sliding to pinned from what i understand.  But i dont think you can modify the sliding wings to become pinned as it will take the config out of class.  if sliding, leave sliding to remain in class.  I understand from John C that the rig changes had more of an affect to performance than the wing changes.

Old rig is slower and much harder to sail. Righting from capsize is also much harder.