mikewof

South Africa headed to economic implosion?

I'm no monetary expert, more of a financial dimwit, and even I can tell that the warnings about South Africa's plummeting economy are on target.

If South Africa goes under the way Greece did, or worse, will there be a European-style bailout? CAN there be any kind bailout when surrounded by countries that largely struggle too other than maybe Kenya? I can't see Nigeria or Egypt helping in a bailout.

Unless they can turn that ship around, I suspect that their economy is going to shortly be based on cell phone credits and ethereum, which means the most desperate people there are going to be in real trouble.

A lot will depend on the secret ballot today and if they can somehow dislodge Zuma.  He's a nut but he's also a symptom.  They look like they're bent of following the "Zimbabwe Blueprint" at this point.

We spent several months in SA on our circumnavigation and really liked the country and people. It is a shame that it has such a useless government. The fundamentals of its economy are strong but the management has been corrupt and ineffective. The fundamental political problem is that the population support the ANC and its leader because it is the party that brought majority rule. Mandela must be turning over in his grave to see what the ANC has become. What is happening now, that is very hopeful, is that an increasing number of voters are too young to have an unthinking commitment to the ANC and will look at their options more objectively.

Zuma is not worse than Trump on a day-by-time basis, although he beat a rape trial and is corrupt, but he has been president for eight years. Can you imagine the state of the US after eight years of Trump 'leadership'.

3 hours ago, Bristol-Cruiser said: