cameras4toys

Bareboat charter in Croatia - no certification required?

Does anyone know of a charter boat operator/owner in Croatia who is not going to force me/or husband to show a license? My husband and I have extensive cruising experience and own our own boat and don't want to spend $550 + the time to prove we know how to do it. Additionally, the ASA is the only one in my area doing certs and the ASA/IPC isn't always listed on sites as a license. I respect the value to do it, but am interested if it's possible to go without. 

Worst case, buy a boat for the vacation and resell it. Sounds like more hassle and money than the cert to me.

1 hour ago, cameras4toys said:

Does anyone know of a charter boat operator/owner in Croatia who is not going to force me/or husband to show a license?

In Croatia /and onboard Croatia registered vessel/ possession of a skippers licence is a legal requirement, and one person should also have a VHF licence. There is an official list of recognised licences which is published by the authorities you can view the list here

I don't think there is any way out of it.

The cost is minor and it took me half a day and a bit of reading.

13 hours ago, cameras4toys said:

Does anyone know of a charter boat operator/owner in Croatia who is not going to force me/or husband to show a license? My husband and I have extensive cruising experience and own our own boat and don't want to spend $550 + the time to prove we know how to do it. Additionally, the ASA is the only one in my area doing certs and the ASA/IPC isn't always listed on sites as a license. I respect the value to do it, but am interested if it's possible to go without. 

Worst case, buy a boat for the vacation and resell it. Sounds like more hassle and money than the cert to me.

Even if you buy a boat your will need an ICC. I think there is a school where you can do it over there before you go if you want, but many charter companies won't let you book without it.