Hello Everyone!

I have been looking to get into sailing for quite some time now and would like to get my first sailboat. I have never sailed before but am looking to learn/practice on this boat. Since I don't have much money or space, I was hoping to get a boat that could fit a few adults and be sturdy to take out on the ocean rather than starting with something small like a sunfish. I found one on craigslist, but have no idea if its a good buy or is a good boat. I have searched around a bit and read that it should be sturdy for ocean sailing and holds up well with time?

https://phoenix.craigslist.org/evl/boa/d/sailboat-discoverer-annapolis/6401854656.html

So far, I've learned that sails, ropes, and pulleys all need to be in good condition (not sure exactly how to tell) and that a jib is very good to have for sailing. What should I be looking for when I go look at the boat? Again, I am new to this but am excited to learn!

Looks like a fair deal for what you want. If U buy it make sure the owner will take U out and demo setting up, launching and your first sail. Take a friend and pictures or better yet movie. If not, look elsewhere as there could be enough disappointments to turn U off from sailing.

• Like 1

Hmm. Not familiar with that design. Looks like gear if missing is easily interchangeable with other classes. The deck-stepped mast might be a challenge. I can't tell -- is it raised using a tabernacle? Make sure the step is intact/complete. Does not appear to be self-rescuing -- might be prudent to apply some flotation. The last item has been discussed on several recent forums.

Which reminds me -- I believe posting pics of your favourite "flotation" is still a prerequisite for newcomers to SA.

13 hours ago, IwannaBoat said:

Hello Everyone!