Sign in to follow this  
Zora

38 foot steel Cutter rebuild

Anarchists

I've been lucky and struck gold in the form of a fully restored 38 foot steel hull for cheap. 

And that's just what it is right now, a hull and some rig and an engine. A decent springboard. 

Instead of writing it all out, i'm going to "Vlog" it here https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZ05SYliiCbF_0mLNTI4IQg?view_as=subscriber

There will be weekly videos, and they will be of decent quality... I'll try and get herself to wear a bikini in some episodes so i can actually call it a proper sailing Vlog because that's Youtube now..

I had a 23 foot glass boat i had been working on but this boat came up and i had to have it. The glass boat owes me SFA. 

Its a Dick Koopman design (design 220)

sdA46rG.jpg

99nn0iJ.jpg

(Ps. i know the hull is the cheapest bit etc etc.. I have a healthy budget, i am an Engineer and i have some sailing done (4000 miles including transat on a steel boat)

Enjoy

Rhys

• Like 1

Steel rusts from the inside of the hull...avoid any standing water in the bilge, chain lockers,  or on any interior surface, keep a eye on the  tanks .

be sure that you electric system is isolated from the hull

the modern paints work very well.   Make friends with a sand blaster .  

If you keep on top of it steel is a good material 

It's been fully sandblasted and epoxied with several coats. It will be spray foamed. 

• Like 2

KQoBBVF.jpg

sDuYCQb.jpg

Its a bit dusty and messy in the photos, but the hull is immaculate. 

There will be one more coat of epoxy before foam 

• Like 1

As they say “One man’s dream is good enough for a vlog”!

And if you have been identified as a female by others before 2016, then please post a vlog of your tits so we can get to work here.

29 minutes ago, Sail4beer said:

As they say “One man’s dream is good enough for a vlog”!

And if you have been identified as a female by others before 2016, then please post a vlog of your tits so we can get to work here.