AdmiralBangBang

Buying a Beach Cat

I have been sailing for 2 years now, with the boats from the junior sailing program where I live. Problem is, I would like to sail more often, and I really now want my own boat. I talked to my mom, and she said it was okay, but I would need to raise all the money. I want a quick, fast beach cat, and I wanted to ask should I build one, or should I buy one, and how to spread the cost out. Thanks!

I would say buy one. I have built two tris and the first one a 33' 

One took 3 years. Do you have reliable crew or singlehanding? 

Just sold my Hobie Getaway, heavier rotomolded hulls recreational

Sailing oriented, but was nice and I was able to keep it on the beach.

Super cat 17 or maybe Nacra . Goodluck

Buy one to start.  Look for a Hobie 14 or 16, 14s are single-handed. While you're sailing that boat, plan one to build.  It takes a long time to build your own boat and would infinitely delay you sailing your own. 

Look at the forum on https://www.thebeachcats.com/.  There's plenty of tips and advice there on what kinds of beachcats make sense.  Plus the best list of classifieds online (also look at Craigslist -- lots of cats there).  That will give you a good sense of what you get per $.  Hobie Cats of various types are easy to find for <$2K used, in many cases you can also find for <$1K for an older boat.  Depends of course on what boat.

A used cat is often not expensive, and many of the things that are worn can be fairly easy repaired (lines, rigging, hulls), for not too much $.  What is most costly is sails -- a used boat will typically cost less than a new set of sails (sails can run $1.5-4K depending on how many the boat has).  So be picky about what sails a boat comes with.  Some boats that have been raced have several sets so you can use the practice set on usual days and still race with the better sails when needed.  Other things that are expensive are tramps and masts.