jasonsansfleece

Boom vang loads?

Hi there,

I have a question about Vang loads, perhaps you can help me out. I have a CL 16 (a Canadian built Wayfarer clone) which has a little  Cuddy cabin. This prevents me using a conventional Vang. I’m planning on installing an upside down vang, a GNAV.  I’m going to use some fittings from Selden and for the sliding connection on the boom I want to use a Harken car with recirculating balls and short piece of track.

The cars  come with SWL‘s of 310 pounds for the micro and 500 and 850 for the 22 mm regular and high load cars. Which one to use?

I did buy the micro but holding it in my hands I have some misgivings compounded by the fact that I’m not an engineer.

The boom is 120 inches long and the original vang attachment point is 28 inches from the gooseneck.  The main sheet attaches to the end of the boom and has a 3 to 1 purchase. The main sheet attachment point and the thing attachment point have a ratio of 4.3 :1 . Would the vang load be 4.3 times higher than the main sheet load? If you see where I’m going. Or none of the above?

Save me from analysis paralysis and choose the right car

Ok, so you are talking about this

I think your question is about the rating on the tackle that pulls the strut in towards the gooseneck. 

If you look at the load as a torque around the gooseneck, then the vertical component of force at the Vang strut would need to be 4.3 x the downward force of the sheet tackle. 

Assuming that the vang strut attached to the mast at about the same height for a 45 degree angle as shown in diagram, then the solution of a free body diagram would give you a load on the tackle approximately 1/cos(45) * 4.3 or more like 6 times the downward force of the Main sheet tackle

if you have a sense of the amount of force to pull in your main when hardened in (say 100lbs) * 3:1 tackle that would give you a working load of about 1800 lbs on the pull in tackle 

round it off to 2000 to account for some friction.