Sign in to follow this  
Mitch

Newbie Catamaran Spreadsheet Analysis; Pepito Follow through

Hello Everyone,

First off, excellent responses to Pepito’s plans.  I’m Mitch Taylor in Stuart FL. Joined Pepito's thread a little late so started another just in case nobody was still on that one, not exactly sure how it works. If it's better to continue his thread then someone just erase this one.

Just joining the SA forum for the first time (first Sailing forum ever actually) and looks like the best place, after many years of reading/ research, to find help.  

I’m on nearly the same path as Pepito though medical background, still practicing, with kids still in Middle school; but divorced, living alone now.  The younger two, 11 and 13 will hopefully be living with me aboard a 35’ish monohull in the next year, then 42’ish cat in another 2 years.

I’m self taught so far sailing a 17’ Watkins Daysailer (first sailboat) in the St. Lucie Inlet which has been great fun and invaluable experience. Just sold it for probably a F18 next step up.  Then plan on persuing certification for Catamaran Cruising ASA certifications.

My angle:  I’m not ashamed to admit I'm a “spreadsheet” guy, trying to narrow down the field by SA/D and D/L ratios, etc., for a performance designed but liveable used, well built Cats in the 39 to 48’ range.  

Budget is similar to Pepito, but I’d like to keep the initial purchase in the $400k range for upgrades and surprises as I’ve read repeatedly overextending is maybe one of the worst first mistakes. Even the new 40's fully equipped are pushing $650k.  And I would love to not take the hardest hit of depreciation with a new boat purchase.