Glenn McCarthy

Are black measurement bands on the boom and mast still required?

25 minutes ago, Glenn McCarthy said:

Good grief......I challenge anyone to watch all 19 minutes of that video without fast forwarding.

5 hours ago, Glenn McCarthy said:

Question relates to LMPHRF and ORR racing.  Please provide the link to the answer.
Thanks.

Bbarflmphrf; dkaorr.

Tltpal.

On 5/16/2018 at 10:51 AM, Mambo Kings said:

Good grief......I challenge anyone to watch all 19 minutes of that video without fast forwarding.

Ok.  I'm lame.   I was so curious I watched the whole GD thing.  I'm a painter so I am always curious about different techniques for things.  

Glenn:

Don't know how helpful this will be but, San Diego PHRF references black bands in defining rig measurements I, E, etc.

http://www.phrfsandiego.org/documents/PHRFApplication.pdf

ORC does the same: Orc.org

only places I've looked

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=orr+sailing+rule

https://www.offshoreracingrule.org/orr-rule/rulebook

9.03 Painted Measurement Bands.
Measurements may be taken to locations defined by painted bands, of black or other contrasting color, only when these bands are in place at the time of measurement. Where measurements are taken to such bands any movement of the bands or a failure to display them while racing shall invalidate the rating certificate.

9.07 Mainsail Hoist (P).
P shall be the measured length of the hoist of a headsail headed mainsail. It is the distance along the afterside of the mainmast from the highest level to which the head of the sail, or any part of a headboard carriage abaft the track or mast groove, may be set to the lowest position of the tack. The highest point shall be taken as the top of the highest sheave used for the main halyard, or to the lower edge of a one- inch measurement band. The lowest position of the tack shall normally be the fair extension of the top of the boom or any external track or groove.