nwslider

Melges 24 turnbuckles and tuning

I am new to Melges 24 and reading through the tuning guides I see the instructions for rig tension and changes based on wind speed.  I found one guild that mentioned the # of turns for the wind range changes were for Ronstan Calibrated turnbuckles and tuners should use 1/2 turns if they have normal open turnbuckles.  I don't see this in any other tuning guides, I have the open turnbuckles on my boat, should I be using 1/2 turns?

Should I be using any specific tuning guide or should I only be using the guide for the sails that came with the boat from the specific sailmaker?

If you have the newer style turnbuckles then use half turns. 

We have found the north guide to be a pretty good starting point. 

Get your rake set right and make sure the mast is straight. Once your rake is right it is easy to ensure that the rig stays properly tuned with a loos gauge. 

The goal is to keep a little bit of slack in the leeward shrouds and lowers while sailing upwind. 

When it get's really windy and you have so much backstay on that the main is just folding in half and inverting upwind, that is a sign that you need more lowers. 

Top teams are putting on as many as 40 half turns on the caps when the breeze is on. 

If the guide you are looking at maxes out at something like 20-24 full turns, its written for open turnbuckles.  If it maxes out at something like 40+ full turns, its written for Ronstan calibrated - you can then translate accordingly.

I'd start with the guide written for the sails you are using, or if you are really just starting out, whichever guide makes the most sense to you (or, as ASP says, North aint bad).