Sign in to follow this  
pemakris

Severe Hull Damage

Hello,

I maybe  interested in this boat but I can't estimate the severeness of the damage. The price looks extra good, (9.000) euros for a 40 feet Beneteau Oceanis, year 1992.

Although I am a bit handy(I own a machine shop) I have no experience with hull repairs and fiber glass, neither I can estimate if the location of the hole is at a critical section of the boat so it might be not repairable.

Opinions please?

14102858_7_b.jpg

14102858_8_b.jpg

14102858_9_b.jpg

The hole seeps to be at the position where the rudder stock used to be, so yea, it's a critical section ;-)

It is reparable, the extra effort is to replace the rudder.

steps would be more or less:

- Clean and scarf the hole, make an outside mold, re laminate the hull, remove mold, drill hole for rudder post

- place rudder pipe, laminate rudder pipe, laminate structural parts around rudder if damaged, place lower bearing, mount rudder.

Looking at the damage you'll probably need a new rudder as well, and there will probably be damage at the upper bearing (cockpit floor) as well. It looks like the rudder hit something pretty hard. You'll also need a new propellor....

• Like 1

What he said ^ plus if the rudder was ripped off in a rock incident as evidenced by the bent prop then the interior has had likely a bath and all that entails. Wiring, engine, batteries, etc etc. For $9k, you may as well go and get drunk a lot because there is every chance youll end up pissing it against a wall if you buy it at least if youre drunk you might get laid instead of this thing fucking you.

However if you insist on getting married then for the sake of all christendom please spend 500 on a survey, apart from being a 15k repair job at least if you get the pros to do it, there is going to be all that 1990 worn out crap to deal with as well.

9 minutes ago, Gutterblack said: