Sign in to follow this  
KansasPaul

New to sailing - open to boat advise

I'm sure this topic has been beaten to death but I'm looking for advice on my first boat purchase.  Here's the background:  started sailing literally 4 weeks ago. I absolutely am hooked. I've been training on a MC16 scow - understand the basics, I can right it after a tip over, docking, etc.  I'm still learning about sail shaping (studying as much as I can, unfortunately in our normally windy local area the wind has been mild recently) - planning to get out more to practice as much as possible before the end of the season.  I'm wanting to buy my own boat and get out to practice more frequently. This is where I'm having some difficulty. I do enjoy the MC but I feel like I want something a little different and something I can drag another person on once in a while. For 90% of my sailing I will be sailing solo - ease of rigging (fast time) is also important.  I don't want to sail a slow barge but at least for now I want it to be stable.  I kayak a lot and boat heel doesn't bother me but the lake closest to me (about 5 miles from home) has very little boat traffic and if I turtle it, I'm hosed.  A couple of boats that have popped up for sale include: Rebel, Sweet 16, Johnson 18 (love the boat design - afraid it would be too far beyond my current abilities), the occasional Hobie Holder/Vangard, and all kinds of Cats (I'm ruling these out at this time).  Wanting to hold the budget to <$3K

So there you have it - any suggestions for a "lively", fun boat that I can singlehand and add one or two others on occasion? 

Thanks!

Paul

Wit a budget of less than 3K, Laser or Sunfish (used of course) Or if you really want to sail with another person, something like a Capri 14.2 or a Buccaneer. Others will present other options.

• Like 1

Vanguard 15 is good. Can be righted by yourself. Although in some ways the scow is easier because you have two boards to use.