susie

Antifouling paint and illegal dumping - info request

I am a journalist starting work into an investigation of toxic waste dumping at a super yacht shipyard. Mostly the accusations are around improper dumping of antifouling paint, but there are also rumors of toxic PCB chemicals and other things buried at the shipyard. The chemicals apparently have been causing high rates of cancer among workers.

I'm looking to talk to anyone who has expertise in the environmental and or human health effects of antifouling paint. Or who has a general idea of how haz waste disposal is standardly done at shipyards. Or who knows about the general state of haz waste handling at shipyards. OR anyone who knows about other shipyards doing irresponsible/illegal waste disposal.

I'm really new to these topics and would really appreciate some guidance. Message me or comment if you can talk. 

In paint form, the stuff is too expensive to dump. Who dumps new paint?

If your talking about what happens to the run-off once it's cleaned, it's usually captured and treated then disposed of by various methods. It doesn't cost a lot to do this and records are kept. If the problem is real, your EPA people aren't monitoring the waste disposal as they should be. I know they keep a close eye on me in my yard! If I was dumping stuff, they'd work it out pretty quick. And if I was, I'd probably go to prison or pay millions in fines...

These days the main nasties are copper & zinc, not like the old days when Tributyltin (TBT) was the toxin of choice. If it's residual TBT you're looking at, that happened a good while ago.

As for PCB's they were common when I was young and all kinds of things used to happen. But rarely found on a superyacht, mainly in a transformer or the like...

You probably need to elaborate more for better insights?

7 hours ago, susie said: