redboat

Which Topside Paint?

Interlux Perfection or Epifanes two part Poly-Urethane?

I "hear" Perfection is easier to apply but Epifanes is harder and offers a better finish.

While I'm at it....

Have another project requiring a single part paint. Always used interlux Brightside. Epifanes also offers a single part topside paint  called Mono-urethane that is "supposed"to be better.  Any  experience with both to offer a comparison.

Only with Brightside. I couldn't have been happier with it - went on very smooth by brush with 5% Penetrol. Good gloss, lasted for years - still looked good when I sold the boat.

The only problem I saw was a couple of areas of "acne" - pinhead blisters - that showed up 2 or 3 years in. I suspected it was some moisture migration from the laminate.

Brightside is a great product and easy to use. It just does not have the strength of a two part product. The two part is harder to apply with perfect results. It can be done by a good amateur. I am not a pro but painted the hull on one boat and the deck of another with great results. There is a learning curve, just be prepared to sand it out and start over. I used Awlgrip and it lasted for years.

My understanding is brightside will not retain its shine as long and will wear out faster if applied in a high traffic area. In my opinion the two part is worth the extra effort. But brightside will get you good results with much less effort and cost. 

I'd say Perfection is 25% more difficult to apply, 3X more expensive, but 10X better once it's on.

However, the OP already knows 2-parts are great because the question is Perfection vs. Epifanes 2-part. On this I have no comparison but I've been very happy with Perfection, where even slight imperfection is still pretty darn good.