Sign in to follow this  
cinnr

Shore power gfi tripping

I need help understanding the best way to find my wiring problem that is causing the newly installed gfi on my shore power to trip.

Here's my current state: with battery switch in "off", I can connect shore power and run the battery charger and AC outlets without a problem.  Bilge pump works no problem.  All DC switches on the panel are in the off position.  When I turn the battery switch to "1", "2" or "both", the gfi on the shore power will trip after about 10 seconds (not immediately).  This is with no power being supplied by the DC switches on the panel.

I'm looking for advice on where to start looking, and perhaps a method/procedure for identifying the specific problem.  This is my first time diving into the back side of the electrical panel, and don't have much experience with electronics and electrical systems, but I'd like to get to the bottom of this.

Thanks!

Tom

Hmmmm - this is a weird one.

The GFCI will trip when the current through a coil in the breaker from the hot is not balanced by the return current through the neutral. That creates a force that flips the breaker. Ergo, you have hot current that is returning via ground and not via the neutral.

That's a boat no-no because it means you're sending current through your bonding and into the marina, so you have a good chance of your keel paint falling off, or your prop vanishing mysteriously. Also, you can zap your diver if it's fresh water (and clean).