Sign in to follow this  
Itsabimmerthing

Keel joint hairline cracks

Hi,

I have recently faired bottom, keel hull joint has fair amount of fairing in it.Bottom is painted with Light primer and then Durepox and final coat of durepox clear.

Last time I was cleaning the bottom I noticed hairline cracks on the portside fwd and more further back. They are clearly visible but can hardly be felt by hand. Keel was off last winter, structure is GRP hull with internal galvanized frame.

We had some races with pretty rough seas and few major broaches that could have caused these? My question is: Is this normal or should I do something about them other than fair them and touch up with durepox?

Thanks for the replies in advance!

Unless it's weeping water into the bilge I'd check the torque on the bolts, fair it in and keep an eye on it when next hauled.

I'm not an engineer but I suspect it would probably be best done on land with the keel blocked to take tension off the bolts.

You can find torque tables on the Interweb that will tell you the proper torque for your bolts - it is determined by the bolt diameter, thread count and material of the bolts.

My understanding was/is that keel bolts do not need "re-tensioning" all bolts were properly torqued and bolts secured by double nuts.

Anyways, I understand small cracks are quite common? I do not like to see them though.

Put it back in the water. Then you can't see them. Problem solved. 

• Like 1

8 hours ago, Itsabimmerthing said:

My understanding was/is that keel bolts do not need "re-tensioning" all bolts were properly torqued and bolts secured by double nuts.

Anyways, I understand small cracks are quite common? I do not like to see them though.

Normally no but grounding can affect their tension.

It's just a check.

Hairline cracks are not uncommon, especially if the fairing was done with a hard filler.

1 hour ago, SloopJonB said:

Normally no but grounding can affect their tension.

It's just a check.