nmanno

Carbon3 trimaran coming to Hong Kong

Hi all,

Whilst I am not an avid writer on the forums, I love reading them.

I wanted to cut the lead mine loose for at least 8 years and never dared to make the move.

I am happy to report that the purchase of Carbon3, the Nigel Irens designed 40ft trimaran has been completed and will hopefully soon make her way to Hong Kong.

What I love about this hobby is the steep learning curve and I am excited about this huge wall of new experience I am facing BUT I will need your guys help.

I have limited knowledge of these larger multis (I have raced F18) and so I may be asking for many questions when the boat arrives and we need to get it rigged and prepared for racing in the area.

The programme will be to sail it for 1 year inshore and coastal to see if the scare factor is manageable and then refit and modify her a bit to be able to do short double handed offshore stints on top of the inshore/coastal agenda.

My first question starts with: she weights c.1.8t, is 12m long and 10m wide. what sort of outboard power would you recommend to purchase to get her out of the harbour. Will a 6HP suffice?

Obviously I want to keep her as light as possible.

Thanks

• Like 2

Woah.  No input other than 6hp sounds pretty low for all that windage. 

Sounds like an amazing ride. Please keep us posted!

• Like 1

In both light and heavy wind - "When in doubt, sheet out."

I have an F40, also an Irens, but a cat from '86. It nominally weighs 1.8 tonnes, is 12m long and 8m wide, so a little less windage than your boat but a little more hydrodynamic drag. I have a high thrust 9.9hp Yamaha that is mounted centrally and rotates with the rudders. It is plenty of power in flat water and no wind or current, typically we do around 5kts on less than 30% throttle for pootling around, but it is woefully inadequate in any wind or current, so we need to plan carefully.