Benjaminw

Need help with an old Flying Dutchman.

Hello, I am new to this form and to the Flying Dutchman. I have recently purchased an old FD, and it seems to be a semi good candidate for a resto project (in my eyes). I bought it for $150 (cad) on a good trailer with 5 sails and spars, so at the very least I have gotten a good trailer. The boat has no lines on it, and I doubt the previous owner ever sailed it as he didn’t have many answers for me. The boat needs some work; fibreglass, paint, new teakwood, rigging, and a center board. I was wondering if anyone had information on the type of boat it is, rigging, upgrades, is it a lost cause? My goal is to have a fun boat to shred, and maybe occasional race on my lake (very informal racing). I do have some boat experience, I have fixed up and rigged out an older albacore to what is now a respectable cottage lake racer. I have also fixed a separate albacore, and an older cl16, so I know (for the most part) my way around a boat. I can post more pics if required, All responses appreciated.

cheers, ben.

C7881580-896C-411D-867D-4DD57B1872A2.jpeg

8C70A712-C6F7-4965-86F2-2E79620C265E.jpeg

3A156372-A85C-4324-B2A1-69EFA2F4D80A.jpeg

Hard to tell from these pictures, but almost every photo of an FD that I find online seems to show an aft deck.  International FD rules call for a maximum cockpit area of 4.2 square meters. Is this cockpit bigger than that?  The photos don't let us see the partners, the forward bulkhead (maybe just because it's dark under there) or give us a good idea of the jib tack fitting's location. Class rules dictate these items and also call for the aft heel of the mast to be 3600mm from the transom, measured along the deck line. Does this boat measure in? 

image.thumb.png.1f4b9307eb59d3d5105246eb8b09e521.pngplenty of FD's around without aft deck, some of them as good looking as this one. No particular  reason yours should be a lost cause apart from work and money to spend!