Sign in to follow this  
Dave_S

Help to improve cruising catamaran to windward

I have a Schionning Waterline 1480 and it sails quite well tacking upwind but I hate giving anything away.  I don't think there is anything wrong, I just wondered if there are some design aspects that can be changed/improved that might help me squeeze a few more degrees from it.  

What makes a better upwind boat for CMG. 

vmg is more important than hight, what are the wind angles tru and apparent on the wind you sail?

• Like 1

If you are thinking "a few more degrees" you are thinking in the wrong direction. I am no catamaran expert, but I have done a few mixed cat/mono races on the beasts and also raced against them with my SC 50. The cats do quite well heading wayyy low. Like they are on a different course. Going fast. It seems hopeless but at the top mark the tactic proves itself. So like mowgli says above, it is not the degrees, it is the VMG.

Better boards, better sails, less headstay sag, better mainsheet system, less weight. That's the short list. More lift/less drag, both above and below the waterline  

Doesn't matter if it's a mono or cat or tri, upwind height counts! I'd take 12 knots at 47 TWA any day over 12 knots at 55 TWA. 

• Like 3

Agree with Soma.Asked Reni Gelder when he won the Trans Tasman what his secret was      hanked on headsail    plus twin headsails      he had spent a long time changing the angle of the centreboard    almost no added weight     AIS so he could sleep safely   . His partner said if Reni could get dehydrated water he would,she was amazed when I said we had it in Aust then peeved when I said you just add water to reconstitute it.   Oh and apparently he sailed from 5 years old in Austria. Austria with inland lakes, high mountain peaks with treacherous winds prepares one very well for ocean racing. Cheers Bottman PS headsail furler is not conducive to fast sailing.