ryley

working with carbon fiber and making some parts

I've got some experience working with glass and epoxy but I've never done any vacuum bagging (except helping others with their layups). I thought I'd take on the challenge of learning a few new tricks and try to make a few pieces. The first thing I was thinking of was new hatch boards for the columbia. I measured the thickness yesterday at 10mm, and I have some questions.

1. can I lay carbon that thick, or should I make them with a foam core? 

2. if its a foam core, any tips or tricks for wrapping the edges and making them look nice? 

I know I could probably buy dragonplate for a lot less than I'll spend setting up for this, but again this is more to learn the technique. I'd like to feel more confident in working with modern materials than when I started with this stuff back with Gale Yount in Noank in the 80's.

thanks in advance

If you make solid CF boards 10mm thick the boards will be the strongest, and possibly the most expensive, things on the boat. I'd definitely core them.

3 minutes ago, IStream said:

If you make solid CF boards 10mm thick the boards will be the strongest, and possibly the most expensive, things on the boat. I'd definitely core them.

thanks IStream, that's kind of what I thought. I also thought of using some fiberglass layers between carbon outer skins, but foam is probably the better way to go. I just wasn't sure how much compression you get, and how much thickness per layer of cf I should account for.

About a 1000 grams or slightly less each side of an 8mm core, depending on supports below and span etc.  

Edit, also depends on core material, don’t use Home Depot shit, use PVC etc. 

• Like 1

For hatch boards, why bother with the expense of carbon?   These aren't structural elements.  

Skins of regular 1708  or 2 x 6 oz cloth should be more than sufficient.  Will flex a bit more than carbon skins if they are the cabin top sliding boards (when someone stands on them)