Sign in to follow this  
Point Break

Latest Book Recommendations

Man, I've been really lucky and had a great run of the last 4 absolutely excellent books I've read and thought I'd share a recommendation.

"The Soul of America" by Jon Meacham. If you're a supporter of President Trump you'll need to get through some critical introductory comments (if you're a thoughtful supporter, a different view won't stop you from reading the body of the book) but the body of the book is excellent. It describes multiple times in our national history where we experienced significant polarized political views and how we found our way forward anyway. I found the discussion of the McCarthy era and its parallels to today shockingly pertinent and thoughtful.....and I thought I was a pretty informed student of US history.

"21 lessons for the 21st Century" by Yuval Noah Harari. I became aware of this author having first read his book "Sapiens" (which is also an excellent book). This book ties together big brother use of data and personal information currently and projects its impact into the near and far future. His conclusions are well supported logically although I found fault in several based on some leaps of logic.....itt is nonetheless an excellent examination of the impact of the digital and information age on our lives and humanity in general. Also it is a very secular view as the author is an unabashed atheist.