sea jay

Launch Operators License

We have a small summer Sailing School. Currently the instructors (typically high school age) ferry the students to the sail boats in a power boat. It has been suggested that because they are paid by the club the instructors are required to have a Coast Guard OUPV license. We have checked with a few local yacht clubs and sailing schools and find that most of their operators do not have any CG licenses. 

The question is do you belong to or know of similar situations (yacht club launch services, sailing school transportation of students to vessels) and how are they complying with Coat Guard Regulations?

Not much help, but about 10 years ago when I was a recent college grad working as a sailing instructor at a yacht club on LIS, we were required to go take a NY State safe boating license course.  The club hosted their own class for all the instructors at the start of the season.  I believe that the course we took was the same coursework as the OUPV, but we didn't have any seatime requirements and didn't get the OUPV - unfortunately can't really remember much beyond that other than that somewhere I have a card from it.

Not much help, but about 10 years ago when I was a recent college grad working as a sailing instructor at a yacht club on LIS, we were required to go take a NY State safe boating license course.  The club hosted their own class for all the instructors at the start of the season.  I believe that the course we took was the same coursework as the OUPV, but we didn't have any seatime requirements and didn't get the OUPV - unfortunately can't really remember much beyond that other than that somewhere I have a card from it.