Sign in to follow this  
Shootist Jeff

UW photography with a GoPro Anarchy

Any of you divers here do much with a go pro?  Any tips to get some good stills? I’ve been diving with a GoPro on and off now for several years and it’s OK. Pic quality is outstanding when it works in the right conditions but I’ve always suffered from not having a good light like the bigger camera rigs. Without good light, the shutter struggles and I get a lot of blurred I,ages. So I broke down and bought a light that clips to the GoPro as well as a handheld video light. The later is like the sun underwater. 

Anyway my questions are 1) if I’m using a light do I still need to use the red filter?  2) is it better to take video and just frame grab the still I want or is it better to use the burst shutter mode?

we just arrived in Raja Ampat for 10 days sand then will do another 10days in Lembeh doing the muck diving / macro stuff. I just want to try to get the most out of the photos for this “bucket list” trip. 

Thamks for any advice in advance. 

1) This is a guess, but I dive and am a good photographer, so I know what you're up against. If the main light source is either light then the red filter is probably not needed, especially in deeper depths where less sunlight is getting to you. And the red filter will probably lose a lot of light through it.

2) The newest Hero (2018) takes 10 Megapixel stills. That is a lot more detail than a video frame. Using a burst mode is good if available. Much better chance of one relatively motionless frame.

You need more light.  I have a Hero 4 Black that I've been using with two, 2300 lumen video lights.  Checkout the Backscatter.com pages on GoPro Accesssories https://www.backscatter.com/department/GoPro/product-category/Packages  and look at their FLIP filters and video lights.  Also check out their turorials on GoPro