Maxx Baqustae

Winemaking anarchy

I know there a thread about wine about a month ago but I found it a little snobby so didn't reply but I have been making wine for over 30 years or so. Member of a local winemaking club. I get awards and medals for my wine as other members. We have properly schooled judges, wine writers and critics in our club and some the best in the region for our competitions. I started with some cheap crappy kits with a friends cellar (he called his/our wine Morosini Cellars when I called it Bobby's Basement!) but graduated to imported wine juice from California. Now we do our own crush every year when in season. We also drag up our grapes from Lodi region etc. Lately, we have a great relationship with a vineyard/winery on the Naramata bench in the Okanogan. Great product and they are paying attention. You can't buy their wine in liquor stores except for speciality wine shops or restaurants in the region. I have had tastings of the product that is outstanding. $40 a bottle Chardonnay if you could buy it, but you can't. I have probably have 500 bottles in my cellar - quietly ageing and I'm in amidst of the Chardonnay and Shirah grapes in due process. bulk ageing and ready to bottle in another two months.

Did a must/juice from Sonoma from the fall with a Pinot Grigio (a great summer sipper) that came off very well and look at the colour. 

Crafting your own wine is an art and you might never get a 100 dollar wine out of it. But 40 bucks - yes. But frankly, most of my medium product would stand up to 15 to 25 dollars a bottle (in Canada). Cheap ass cellar fillers, top up and back sweeting wines probably 10 to 15. 

But it's craft of doing it; making it better. Not cheap hootch. Some do, but not me. 

Anyone else wants to contribute?        

20181213_163352.jpg

_IGP4602.JPG

• Like 2