Epi-sailor

Pukers United – For those that have

This one is going to be long - grab a beer or just scroll down to “My Solution”.

From my first offshore passage I was a puker.  Not a one and done puker but I can puke for days and this can be dangerous.   I am also an ICU nurse and help patients work through nausea and vomiting (N/V) daily.  So, while I’m absolutely no neuro expert on the subject, I have read a fair amount of primary, textbook, and popular literature trying to solve my motion sickness which has dramatically improved in recent years.

So, at the encouragement of my sailing friends, I thought I would share what has and has not worked.  And maybe help someone trying to solve this same equation. This has been covered extensively on SA but b/c solutions to the problem are varied I thought I would add my random 2 cents.

As most folks know, motion sickness (ms) is generally thought to be caused when there is a conflict between vestibular (ears), visual (eyes), and somatosensory (neurological body balance) information. “When these three sensory cues are not congruent, a sensory conflict is generated in the brain, and hypothesized that this conflict underlies the symptoms of motion sickness” (1). This uncertainty is why I think it is hard to have one solution.

Over the years I have tried almost every conceivable evidenced based and and non evidenced based medical and complimentary approach to solving ms including various antihistamines, scopolamine (patch), pressure point wrist bands, ginger, etc.  Below are the common ones I have tried and found in the literature.

Medications I have tried: