NZK

Charleston, SC - advice needed

Hey Anarchists – I’m looking for advice on the Charleston, SC area from those that know. I’m going to give a little background on my position as I think it’ll be relevant to some answers and then hit you with the questions….;

Me (British) and wife (Texan) are currently based in Europe but at some point in the future will be moving West across the pond to the US. We’re both 34 and do not have kids.

I work in the marine industry and will likely be bringing my current business across with me (rather not say what it is right now to keep things simpler and anonymous) and my wife is a chef. For this reason Charleston is on the shortlist as it has a lot going on for both of our careers.

We are going to be visiting Charleston later this year and want to use this opportunity to do some good recon of the city and surrounding area. The main questions we have are;

1.       Neighbourhoods – I don’t think we’ll have the budget for downtown Charleston and we live in the centre of a city right now and will probably want a change when we move so we are looking for neighbourhoods/nearby towns that have more reasonable rental/purchase prices and can offer yards/garages but still have a good amount going on in terms of restaurants/bars, decent grocery stores, sporting facilities within a close distance. Ideally they’d be within public transport and/or reasonable cab/uber rides from downtown and double bonus if they are close to the water – but we’ll look at anything.

2.       Marine industry, are companies based in specific areas? I won’t need to be based within a marina but it would be good to be surrounded by people in the same game. Also, where are the marinas used by the majority of the race boat fleets?  I’ve had an attempt at figuring both of these out via Google but not had much luck.