Sign in to follow this  
Off Watch

Moisture Meters

I was talking to a boat broker in So Cal this weekend about a boat we were interested in and was talking about a survey because wet decks were an known issue with this boat. He was telling me that the surveyors in California don't use moisture meters anymore as they were too unreliable and tapping was way more effective. I sold a J boat 10 years ago that the surveyor said he had high readings in the transom. We drilled a few core samples from the inside and they were all bone dry. So I  know they are not foolproof but are surveyors in Cal. not using moisture meters or is the broker blowing smoke?

I am a Certified Marine Surveyor in So Cal.  I use an Electrophysics GRP 33 moisture meter.

It is not foolproof as you point out, but it is a valuable tool in my bag along with my IR camera, mallet, ears, eyes, multimeter, screwdrivers, socket set etc, etc.

Would love to know who the broker is.

• Like 3

As HH says, they're valid tools, but (IMO) only within the right context.

I think the place people go off the rails is when they think the number "mean something".  That a reading of 38% is a problem but 32% is okay, or whatever.   Like a Loos gauge for rigging, the numbers are useful for identifying differences, but the quantitative readings aren't really meaningful as absolute load values.

The surveyors I know who use them, use them as a relative indicator.... as in "hmmm, the reading in this part of the deck is significantly higher, so let's look a little more closely at that spot to see IF there is a problem."  That's where the eyes, ears, mallet, etc come into play... to determine whether the anomalous reading is moisture in the panel, a difference in construction, a prior repair, or any of a number of other things. 

YMMV

• Like 2