PaulK

New sailing cargo vessel

After signing contracts in October, work has started on a specialty cargo sailing vessel near Nantes, in France:

https://www.meretmarine.com/fr/content/grain-de-sail-la-construction-du-voilier-cargo-avance-chez-alumarine?fbclid=IwAR0AY6nIPrStp0x8eFNcZYk0xN4E9tmfP3H3GTxJzWhV1jtraEWWyTlQimk

The relatively small (72') aluminum schooner is designed to export French goods to the US, and return to Europe with specialty organic/sustainable coffee and spices from the Caribbean & South America.   A crew of 4 is expected to handle it, with possible room for two passengers.  They're expecting to take three months for a complete round-trip, and to make two round-trips a year, starting in 2020. The coffee and chocolate company Grain de Sail https://www.meretmarine.com/fr/content/grain-de-sail-du-chocolat-et-du-cafe-transportes-sur-un-voilier

is securing funding for construction - targeting  1million Euros. Interesting!

Disclosure: I've been sailing since 1962, and have had a longstanding love affair with it. My Uncle was a for real Sea Captain on tankers sailing between the US and Middle East. I've worked in shipline management and consulting for 34 years. IMHO this is a lovely, fanciful  idea, best suited for investors who need a loss to offset gains elsewhere, and/or folks with more money than brains. Modern logistics and supply chain management work against this concept, I'd be surprised if you couldn't move most of their targeted cargo point to point by air in a couple of days transit for similar money. If you absolutely, positively, have to move your freight in the "greenest" way on earth possible, God love ya, go for it - but understand upfront that the ocean freight business is as cutthroat as any on this planet. Lastly, the route they've sketched out is the exact OPPOSITE (counter clockwise) of the way the old triangle trade worked (clockwise)... looks like they may be beating to weather a bit.