Mr B

Info for Zonker.

Hi There,

I found this Forum by accident looking on the Internet,

I came across an archived thread on Gemini's, and a comment by Zonker on my Cat, in 2014

He met me in Vanuatu as I was sailing on my cat on the way from Fiji to Australia, 

If you were the man that downloaded a backup map on my laptop in Vanuatu, Thank you, It did come in very handy, 

Yes I did make it home, In my Gemini 105mc,  I had a 6 week crash course in sailing as I couldnt sail a boat of any kind when I bought my Cat in Fiji,

But I was a motor boat driver of some forty years, So I wasnt a novice Boaty, 

And plan B was driving it home on the Diesel if I couldnt sail it,

My cat now lives in Western Port bay Victoria Australia, 

It been repaired and I am almost ready to put it back in the water again,  Hulls have been beefed up from 5 mm to 13 mm, 

Cheers, Brian,

Boat piccy 27-3-2019 002.jpg

394.JPG

• Like 4

1 hour ago, PIL66 - XL2 said:

The bottom pic looks as though the rig has no rake at all... is that right....?

That is correct, 

Yeah, that was me. Glad to see you made it to Australia. We were slightly worried about your sailing skills!

3 hours ago, Zonker said:

Yeah, that was me. Glad to see you made it to Australia. We were slightly worried about your sailing skills!

Thanks to you, I made it, GPS was the problem, I had the wrong map in the GPS,  And I didnt know how to operate it either,

You did save me from that rock above Efate when you told me to change direction, That rock wasnt even on my GPS, And I couldnt see it in the dark, 10-00 PM at night, it was pitch black, Glad you were listening on the VHF,  I would have hit it and sunk, 

Once I got past Efate and hit clear water, I went to sleep, I turned around and came back and found you only because you had taught me how to operate the GPS,