When I Retire

Elan Sailboats

Contemplating buying an Elan built around 2005.  I have never sailed an Elan.  Can someone share some insights into the boats.  Are they built well?  Do they hold up?  Do they sail well?

• Like 1

Elan have a big range, sailing ability depends on which model. I have an Elan 384 Impression, (California) Build quality is above average, very comfortable, but even with a vertical battened main, it is not the best sailor. True, I have a fixed three bladed prop on the sail drive, but this boat is not quick. Wife loves it for all the cruising reasons. Ours is 2013 and in very good shape. As good as a Bene, perhaps not as good as a Jenneau.

Welcome Newbie! Great name you chose for yourself.

I have no experience with Elan, but have been intrigued by the boats.

Be prepared for a rude welcome from some here.  It is intended to be good-natured, but way over the top. A response is not required.

• Like 2

I raced on  38 about that time,  well built and comfortable and with any breeze could hold it's own against J35/109 as in phrf they gave 6 to 9 seconds//mile. In light air (under 10) would struggle.  A feathering prop is well worth it if performance is cared about.  There were some initial build issues that Elan took care of, don't remember the details.  I liked the boat, never felt out of control even in big breeze - did require 10 crew to be competitive against the above mentioned boats.

I sailed a few. Build quality seemed average to a bit above average for the mid range and production boats.  Is not an X, but it's not a Bavaria either.

For performance you're going to have to be a bit more specific. They produced a wide range, and even for a given model there were big difference in spec. Some went quite well. Others didn't have enough keel, a short rig with a furling main and a 3 blade prop...