james14

Buying a Moth

Hey all, 

I am looking into buying a moth in Australia to race and sail as I am getting frustrated having to rely on crew and foiling seems to be the way everyone is going. 

Would love to chat with some people about, common issues things to avoid and an affordable budget to get a moth? 

How important is having a really top-end boat for winning events and how important is the boat for learning? 

I am a boat builder so I am able to do my own repairs. So if it is a little rough to start that isn't a huge deal. All info is greatly appreciated as I dont know a whole heap about them yet. 

Cheers James 

If you plan on winning a moth worlds suggest you win a gold medal in an olympic class  first. Seems to be a pre requisite in the last 6 years. If you want to sail the most exciting, most rewarding boat available then forget about winning anything and just get a moth and go sailing. Whereever you finish in a moth fleet you will have had a fantastic day.

Find a fleet of moth sailors close to where you live, talk to them and find a boat which they think is good enough and fits your budget. You will need help from experienced moth sailors to choose the best boat, set it up properly and to learn the new techniques requied to actually get sailing on foils. Be prepared to upgrade it, not that expensive if you use other people's last generation gear, foils, sails, masts. Be prepared to spend a lot of time maintaining all the mechanical systems which do not work properly if there is slack or slop in the system. Dediacte lots of time to learning how, and listen to advice, watch all the videos and go to regattas and see what the hot shots do.