Adam C

Gel coat chips to glass - repair on a curved edge

Looking for some advice on how to approach this one.  I've gel coat chips in the cockpit, on the curved edge of the seat, near the tiller. The chips are down to the glass in places.

I'm a bit new to this repair - I haven't done any glass work before, only minor gel coat chips and filling drill holes.

The depth to glass, radial matching, and coloring has me unsure of the best technical approach.

Advice is welcome, and please reach out to me directly if you're a pro willing to do a 1hr q&a consulting session with me for an fee.

Kind Regards,

-Adam

20200329_144641.jpg

20200329_144747.jpg

Not saying this is the best way to address this damage, but as an amateur this is what I would do.  Carefully grind out any loose material using a Dremel tool and hand files, bevel out around the repair area without infringing on the non-skid, then fair with Jamestown Distributors TotalFair, or equivalent.  Prime and gelcoat.  I've repaired similar damage on my boat with good results.

I'm sure somebody will jump all over this and give you better advice, but since no one has answered yet I thought I would throw that out.  YMMV.

my approach would be

for the bottom one .. sand, gelcoat sand to fair and polish .. as a comment .. the gelcoat in that area looks thin all round nothing you can do about that,  it needs 2 pack coating at some point

the top pics

dig out, sand, fill with gelcoat, sand and polish

your problems may be worse than they look from the pics .. the glass has whitened which normally means it has absorbed water and the glass resin bond has broken