GeorgeT415

Boats for Big Chaps

Hi all, 

I am 16, 5ft11 and weigh c.93kg (205lbs), I am heavy but not fat (I'm not a beefcake either), I currently sail a laser but find I am under powered until it hits about 12-14knts. I sail in the solent (UK) so I have lots of sea-room and considerable sea states at times. I have been sailing for about 8 years and do so at national regattas with my school sailing team so have some experience. The problem I have with the laser is a lack of room and power (I have a problem that restricts my "gymnastic ability" so I struggle to contort myself to fit under the boom without being in pain for several days after). I am looking for a boat that is bigger and more powerful but controllable, fleet size is not an issue as I mainly sail handicap in my area but availability of competition would be nice. Any suggestions of boats you know of or have experience with that fit my needs would be great. Many thanks.

GeorgeT415

1 hour ago, GeorgeT415 said:

Hi all, 

I am 16, 5ft11 and weigh c.93kg (205lbs), I am heavy but not fat (I'm not a beefcake either), I currently sail a laser but find I am under powered until it hits about 12-14knts. I sail in the solent (UK) so I have lots of sea-room and considerable sea states at times. I have been sailing for about 8 years and do so at national regattas with my school sailing team so have some experience. The problem I have with the laser is a lack of room and power (I have a problem that restricts my "gymnastic ability" so I struggle to contort myself to fit under the boom without being in pain for several days after). I am looking for a boat that is bigger and more powerful but controllable, fleet size is not an issue as I mainly sail handicap in my area but availability of competition would be nice. Any suggestions of boats you know of or have experience with that fit my needs would be great. Many thanks.

GeorgeT415