Sign in to follow this  
Murphness

New Electronics - Simnet/Seatalkng vs NMEA2000

New to me boat and new to me project - Replacing and adding new electronics equipment. I'd like to try and do it right the first time.

Here's the tricky part, I have a mix of different brands of equipment. This is because some of it was gifted (Simrad), some of it is original and some replacing original (Raymarine).

Raymarine: The boat came with a SmartPilot X10 which was broken, so I upgraded to an EV200 because they gave me a discount. I also have an older wind sensor.

• ACU200
  • EV1
  • P70rs
  • ST60 Wind

Simrad: I was gifted an NSE8 and same gen radar

• NSE8 (chart plotter)
  • Simrad Radar (overlay)
  • Simrad GPS Antenna
  • Simrad Depth Sensor (glued to inside of hull style)

Dilemma: This being my first electronic installation project, I'm new to a lot of the NMEA2000 style products. Each system came with it's own proprietary wiring system, which I've since learned is just re-branded NMEA2000 stuff but proprietary connections. Each will run off straight NMEA2000 wiring though (I think).

Should I throw out the wiring that came with these in favor of pure NMEA2K wiring? Can I re-use say the Seatalk stuff and connect the Simnet stuff to that? Should I use Simnet?

Cheers,

Murph

as you said, simnet, seatalk ng and n2k are essentially compatible.

I don't have any simnet on the RockIt, but I do have Ev-100 pilot connected into my n2k backbone, and I did it with a combination of field-installed maretron connectors and adapter cables. ng and simnet adapters are all available from defender.