glass

At what point will PLATU 25 with prod and A-sail plane, if ever.

Been having a lot of fun on my Platu 25 in Tauranga, NZ. Last year installed a 900mm long fixed prod and 51 square meter A2.5. 14 knots boat speed in about 20 true wind speed. The Platu is hard work above 15 knots wind speed with a spinnaker - I’m still learning lots with the set up but so far the A sail is fast, fun, easier and safer. Thoroughly recommended.

434494F5-C937-478B-8337-71B411CFFBB7.jpeg

• Like 2

I have hit some good numbers but it doesn’t plane like a Melges or Seascape 24

As noted above it is a handful  over 18 knots of true wind but fun 

great light air giant killer too 

also have a code 0 for distance racing  in tbe light stuff as the standard jib is small

I raced against the platu fleet here in Thailand for many years, and at least with a sym kite never saw any planing and lit up like a sports boat in any condition; while there should not be a reason why they couldn't based on size and power in the rig, but a lot of it is the design brief and wind range as they were created for our Thai conditions here sub 15 knots and mid level sailors during the early 90s IMS type era - the foil package vs. rig makes the boat a bit unstable downwind in a blow (from what I've seen) and the narrowly driven form which makes them sail pretty well upwind means a lack of form stability and no lead bulb so powering up on a reach - the typical range and direction most boats would light up - also not really possible.  Surfing downwind in bursts seems very doable though. Maybe the bigger kite and also flicking a bigger rudder on - the centre of lateral area would shift backwards - so long since I had anything to do with yacht design I would presume it would be a bit draggier and less balanced but a bigger rudder would probably solve some of the control issues downwind.

• Like 2

7 hours ago, jetfuel said:

... doesn’t plane like a Melges or Seascape 24