Lark

Ethanol and outboard carbs

My Tohatsu sailmaster 6 is in need of yet another carb repair and my redneck outboard guy decided his side gig was more lucrative then boats.   

Two questions:

1.    Should I repair the carb vs carb replacement vs driving 1 - 1.5 hours there an back (4-6 hours total) to go to a real shop?   I'm a basic shade tree mechanic but haven't messed with small engines much nor carbs.   I could probably swap a carb out for the time spent driving and not worry about shop hours conflicting with my work schedule.    I'm tempted to buy a new carb, buy a rebuild kit to rejet the old one during the off season, buy the service manual and stop being reliant on others.   'Solution 1 maritime' is the price winner with all of the above, if anybody can vouch for them.  I can buy a carb from boats.net (I've used them before).   I assume I would need a gasket too?    For years I trailer launched a smaller boat with a reliable Evinrude 2 cycle that works decade after decade with only routine winterizing, so I never actually had to know anything about outboard motors.   Its too thirsty and too wimpy to be a good primary on the pocket cruiser, but ends up being used as an alternate power source at least once a year due to mechanicals on the new Tohatsu.