Hi all - wracking my brain trying decide if the J109 is worth 50% more than the Bene 36.7.

I do PHRF racing, short- or single- handed in generally light lake wind. I'm an engineer - 'technical' sailor - racing the polars and trimming sail all the time.  We are limited to shoal draft for either (6' max on the lake) and there are few of each available now for sale.

Anyone know how they do head-to-head?  The PHRF is almost the same.

Thanks for adding your thoughts and experiences!

Our 1981 J/36 outsails a Beneteau 36.7 SD almost every week in light air. Short-handed, the Beneteau's symmetrical spinnaker will be a handful, vs the sprit & asym on the J.  The asym will also provide great opportunities for determining the best sailing angles. The interior on the Beneteau might be nicer if you like cruising.  

• Like 1

Used to own a 367, sailed against 2 109s. They where quicker for sure in most conditions. The asym a much better shorthanded option.

beni nicer downstairs (109 owners thought so too), but unless you need three cabins, you will hate every sleeping option unless you are under 5’10”

solid glass hull and smart use of solid glass in deck penetrations should make the 367 More durable long term. 

if you get a 367, get a newer one with the lowered pyramid based wheel. Otherwise you will feel incredibly jealous and remorseful every time you see one.

J109. Better race boat and not much difference in them for short/overnight cruising

• Like 1

Having crewed on both they are completely different boats. Compromises with each. I wouldn’t own either unless you can race one design with them. Personally I think the 109 is a better boat and the cost is justified. But you can find a better PHRF racer  for less money.